I’m rereading the Hunger Games series for, I think, the fifth time. As I was reading and attempting to make breakfast this morning–I left the blender in the sink with the water running and my hubby was like, “Okay, I guess I’ll get that,” before I even realized I hadn’t washed my dishes–I realized how symbolic it is that whenever Katniss has a nightmare or just can’t deal, she runs to Peeta. Peeta, as in pita, as is bread.

27dd1ac0-2a3a-0132-094a-0eae5eefacd9
Bustle.com

Jesus replied, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry again. Whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. ~ John 6:35 (NLT)

Jesus refers to himself as the bread of life. He is also the one we can run to when the nightmares hit or we just can’t deal with what life has thrown our way because…

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30 (NLT)

When life gets to the point where I just can’t deal, and even before that, I run to my Peeta and lean into him to get me through. In a way, this is what faith in Christ is all about, leaning on him as we battle through the arena of life.

I think I shall read Hunger Games while making breakfast more often 😉

large
Weheartit.com
