My refusal to play the Games on the Capitol’s terms is to be my last act of rebellion. So I grit my teeth and will myself to be a player. ~ Catching Fire

The above thought comes as Katniss has just witnessed Cinna being beaten to death and is now rising into the arena. When I read this line I thought, “That is me. That is us who believe in the ways of Christ.”

543ef37250acf60f_CF8
PopSugar

Anyone who attempts to live in Christ’s ways is living in defiance of the Capitol (the world). We are told to do what makes us happy, but we declare we are going to do what pleases God. We are told to follow our desires, but we declare we are going to adopt and follow God’s desires. We are told to get revenge, but we are going to give love.

I refuse to play the Games on the Capitol’s terms. This will be my last act of rebellion. So I grit my teeth and will myself to be a player.

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will. ~ Romans 12:2 (NIV)

