I do not pretend to say that I was not very much pleased with him; but while I have Udolpho to read, I feel as if nobody could make me miserable.

Oh! I am delighted with the book! I should like to spend my whole life in reading it. I assure you, if it had not been to meet you, I would not have come away from it for all the world.

Castel of Wolfenbach, Clermont, Mysterious Warnings, Necromancer of the Black Forest, Midnight Bell, Orphan of the Rhine, and Horrid Mysteries.

“Oh! It is only a novel!” replies the young lady, while she lays down her book with affected indifference, or momentary shame. “It is only Cecilia, or Camila, or Belinda”; or, in short, only some work in which the greatest powers of the mind are displayed, in which the most thorough knowledge of human nature, the happiest delineation of its varieties, the liveliest effusions of wit and humor, are conveyed to the world in the best-chosen language.” ~ Northanger Abbey

My heart fluttered as I read this scene. Not only do I love Jane Austen’s stories, I love her! She is a Fandom girl just like me! And a Christian, to boot. I wonder what she would make of my favorite Fandoms like Harry PotterHunger GamesTwilight, and Star Wars.

From the comments above it seems she likes Fantasy and Mystery. So, Harry Potter would probably be on her bookshelves—or on her Kindle, like me. (I was never into e-books until I realized I could carry my entire collection of Harry Potter books in my purse at one time, along with Twilight, Hunger GamesJane Austen, and more! It is almost like having Hermione’s Undetectable-Extension-Charmed purse.)

All this to say, Fandoms and Faith is not a new thing. So, I hope you thoroughly indulge in using your Fandom to increase your Faith.

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. ~ 1 Corinthians 10:31 (ESV)

Happy Fandoming,

Scribble Inkwell

