“… Wherever you are you should always be contented, but especially at home, because there you must spend the most of your time….” ~ Mrs. Morland, Northanger Abbey

Back in Jane Austen’s day people, especially women, spent most of their time at home. Today, that may not be true. Some of us spend most of our time at work or school or traveling. But the same wisdom applies—wherever we go we should always be content.

I’ve found, from experience, that if we live our lives always yearning to be somewhere else, one day we will look back and wish we had enjoyed the places we’ve been. Not saying that we can’t look forward to a vacation or, especially, to heaven; but that, while looking forward to an enjoyable prospect, we still find fulfillment and joy in the moment.

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. ~ Paul, Philippians 4:11-13 (ESV)

Why is learning to find contentment in each moment so important? Because it is the only way to find true, lasting joy. To be able to look about you, no matter where you are and say, “I have joy in this,” is a miraculous gift. It lends to a peace of mind and spirit that most of us, if we could, would line up around the block to purchase. But, monetarily speaking, contentment is free. Something we can learn and apply as we strive to grow in our trust in God.

Are you content today?

