“Fawkes is a phoenix, Harry. Phoenixes burst into flame when it is time for them to die and are reborn from the ashes. Watch him…” ~ Dumbledore, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

Today, I am taking a hiatus from Persuasion, to discuss phoenixes. Phoenixes, if you haven’t devoured John Granger’s books, are symbols of Christ. They are the Resurrection Bird. So, why is this post titled, “Why We Should All Be Phoenixes”?

Because everyone of us is going to experience a Burning Day of sorts. Our dreams are going to get stepped on. Our loves ones are going to disappoint us. We are going to disappoint ourselves. There are moments in life were we are going to hit rock bottom. We are going to burn down to ashes. But what makes phoenixes different is that they do not remain in the ashes. They rise again. They start over. They don’t give up just because they’ve had a Burning Day.

I can attest to life being much better with Christ than without, but life is never going to be easy. Whether we trust in Christ or not, we are still going to have Burning Days. The difference is that with Christ, we are holding onto someone with the power to resurrect from the ashes.

When Harry, Ron, Ginny, and Lockhart needed a way out of the Chamber of Secrets, who did they hold onto? Fawkes. The Resurrection Bird. They did not get out on their own strength, but on his.

The same is true with Christ, we are not strong enough to lift ourselves up from every Burning Day on our own. But He is. And when we cling to Him, He will help us to rise again.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. ~ Philippians 4:13 NKJV

The greatest Burning Day will be our Death Day. With Him it is a celebration of raising to a new life. Without Him… I know I don’t have the strength in me to overcome Death. Only He does. So I cling to Him now to get me through life and, when the day comes, to raise me up from Death to Everlasting Life.

I am not a phoenix, but I know One and I’ve chosen to cling to Him.

