I should think that you Jedi would have more respect for the difference between knowledge and wisdom.” ~ Dexter “Dex” Jettster, Star Wars Episode III

Wisdom and knowledge are not wholly the same. The root word of knowledge is know. We can know a lot of things, but that does not make them true. Whereas wisdom, root word wise, connotes not an abundance of knowing things but an abundance of knowing true things; and being able to discern between the true and the false. Knowledge is the amount of stuff we know. Wisdom is how we use what we know.

In the below quote we see the difference between wisdom and knowledge…

Anakin Skywalker: I’m going to turn you over to the Jedi.

Supreme Chancellor: Of course you would. But you can’t be sure of their intentions.

Anakin Skywalker: I will learn the truth of all this quickly.

Supreme Chancellor: You have much wisdom, Anakin. But if I were to die, all the knowledge you seek about the true nature of the Force will be lost with me. Learn the power of the Dark Side, Anakin. The power to save Padmé.

The Chancellor is telling the truth when he tells Anakin he is wise. Anakin shows his wisdom in his pursuit of the truth behind the facts (or knowledge) he’s been given. However, the Chancellor corrupts Anakin’s wisdom by baiting him with false-knowledge of a question Anakain is seeking an answer to—how to save Padmé. So, Anakin has much wisdom, but not enough to see that the knowledge the Chancellor is offering him is false. And the Chancellor goes using false knowledge to continue to control and corrupt Anakin (Darth Vader).

So, in the Information Age, where we are presented with knowledge at our fingertips, how do we gain the wisdom to discern between true knowledge and false knowledge?

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. His praise endures forever! ~ Psalms 111:10 (ESV)

We begin to have wisdom when we learn to respect the ways of the Lord.

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. ~ James 1:5 (ESV)

It is my understanding and experience that I began to have true wisdom when I placed my faith in Christ, but that wisdom grew by leaps and bounds after I asked him to place his Spirit in my heart (his Spirit which carries his wisdom and knowledge). And, I notice that each day when I pray and ask God for wisdom and discernment, he amazes me with what he opens my mind to.

How do we gain wisdom? We ask God for it, knowing he is the source of true wisdom and true knowledge.

May the Force be with you!

See also, What Siths & Jedi Teach Us About the Uses of Christianity

