We are winding down to the last four episodes in season one of FriendsToday we are going to look at episode 20, The One With the Fake Monica. This is the episode where Monica gets her identity stolen. Only, instead of getting mad she joins in on the fun. Hey, why not? Fake Monica has a way more interesting life than real Monica and real Monica wants a piece of it.

Monica: This woman’s living my life.
Rachel: What?
Monica: She’s living my life, and she’s doing it better than me! Look at this, look. She buys tickets for plays that I wanna see. She, she buys clothes from stores that I’m intimidated by the sales people. She spent three hundred dollars on art supplies.
Rachel: You’re not an artist.
Monica: Yeah, well I might be if I had the supplies! I mean, I could do all this stuff. Only I don’t.
Rachel: Oh, Monica, c’mon, you do cool things.
Monica: Oh really? Okay, let’s compare, shall we.
Rachel: [Yawning] Oh, it’s so late for ‘Shall we’…
Monica: Do I go horseback riding in the park? Do I take classes at the New School?
Rachel: [Yawning] Nooo…
Monica: This is so unfair! She’s got everything I want, and she doesn’t have my mother.

Monica precedes to track the Fake down to a dance studio where they meet and become “friends.” Fake Monica gets real Monica to do all the things she wants to but has been afraid of. At first they have fun, but the fun costs. Monica hasn’t been going to work. She’s coming home drunk. And then she gets an awakening call…

Rachel: Yes, yes, it does. Okay, look, the restaurant called, they wanna know if you’re gonna be showing up for work?
Monica: Nope. Going to the Big Apple Circus today.
Rachel: Okay Monica, what are you doing? You’re gonna lose your job! This is not you!
Monica: No, it is me! Y’know, I’m not just the person who needs to fluff the pillows and pay the bills as soon as they come in! Y’know, when I’m with her, I am so much more than that. I’m- I’m Monana!
[The phone rings and Rachel answers]
Rachel: Hello? Yes, she is, hold on a second, please. Monana, it’s for you, the credit card people.
Monica: Helloooo? Yeah. Oh my Gah. Thanks.
Rachel: What?
Monica: They’ve arrested Monica.

Fake Monica’s life looked pretty fun on paper for a while. And living it was fun, until the consequences caught up to her. And this is where the biblical life lesson ties in. One of the commandments says, “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his male servant, or his female servant, or his ox, or his donkey, or anything that is your neighbor’s.” (Exodus 20:17 ESV).

When we “covet” we end up spending our lives running after what is so much “better” in our eyes than what we have. The problem of living like this is:

  1. Somethings look great on the outside for a while but have dire inward and outward consequences down the line.
  2. We’ll never be happy because we’ll always be chasing what someone else has. When we get it, it will be fun for a minute, and then we’ll chase after the next thing.

The reason God tells us not to covet is because he loves us and wants us to experience joy. Monica didn’t need what Fake Monica had to be happy and fulfilled, she just had to enjoy what she did have. She’s working in a profession she loves. She has great friends. She has the financial means and ability to do some of the things she wants to if she pushes herself. Fake Monica? She has no freedom, no money, and can’t do anything she wants to. Why? Because everything looked shinny on the outside for a while, but she was on a course headed for disaster.

Source
Source

Monica: I just can’t believe you’re in here. I mean, what am I gonna do without you? Who’s gonna crash the embassy parties with me? Who’s gonna take me to the Big Apple Circus?
Fake Monica: Monica, I started my day by peeing in front of twenty-five other women, and you’re worried about who’s gonna take you to the Big Apple Circus?
Monica: Well, not… worried, just… wondering.
Fake Monica: There’s nothing to wonder about, Monica. You’re gonna go back to being exactly who you were, because that’s who you are.
Monica: Not necessarily…

Real Monica proves Fake Monica wrong. Real Monica can be herself and have a great time too!

Teacher: You by the door. In or out?
Monica: In. [She joins in the dancing. She still flounders]
Teacher: You in the back, you’re getting it all wrong!
Monica: Yeah, but at least I’m doing it!

Don’t spend your whole life running after what others have. Enjoy what you do have. Be you! In or out?

Source
Source

Transcript from: http://friends.tktv.net/Episodes1/summaries/21.html

