In the fourth episode of the new CBS show, Supergirl, we get to celebrate Thanksgiving, superhero style. (Which makes me super happy. 😉 ) Kara’s foster mom (Alex’s mom), Mrs. Danvers, is in town. Alex is freaking out. Mom doesn’t know Alex is a DEO agent and, now that Kara is “out,” Alex is sure she’s about to hear it from Mom for not looking after Kara properly.

Holiday stress? Check.

Snarky radio host for Catco, Leslie Willis, decides to broadcast her annual list of un-Thankfulness. This year, she is not grateful for only one thing: Supergirl. Leslie proceeds to diss Supergirl’s clothes, heroism, dating life, and body. She says awful things, and everyone in Supergirl’s office listens in. Including her crush, James Olsen, and best friend, Winn.

Source
Source

Meanwhile, Kara learns that Winn will be celebrating an orphan Thanksgiving, so she invites him over for Friends-giving with her family. And, in a strikingly un-characteristic show of kindness, Cat stands up for Supergirl:

Cat: I caught your broadcast yesterday, I warned you about going after Supergirl.

Leslie: You’re always warning me about something. That’s our dynamic. You tell me I’m crossing a line. A week later, there’s a new line to cross.

Cat: I discovered you in that shoebox of a radio station. I mentored you to the best of my abilities. And for the most part, I am proud of that. But going after a young girl, insulting her body, how she dresses, her sexuality…

Leslie: Lack of sexuality. And the last time I checked, as long as I delivered you certain ratings, you didn’t care what sacred cows I went after. So why is she different?

Cat: I named her, Leslie. I am doing everything I can to cultivate a relationship between Supergirl and Catco. If I could legally adopt her, I would.

Leslie: I read your article, Cat. You’re just as hard on her as I am.

Cat: Supergirl is off the table. Effective immediately.

Leslie: What, you’re dictating my content now?

Cat: Yes. Supergirl is changing the conversation of National City. People don’t want your brand of negativity anymore, Leslie. They want optimism, hope, positivity.

Cat puts Leslie on traffic duty. There is a lightning storm that nearly takes out Leslie’s chopper, but Supergirl stops the helicopter from crashing. Unfortunately, as Supergirl is pulling Leslie from the chopper, she is struck by lightning. Leslie ends up in the hospital.

Cat: How much longer until it’s appropriate for us to leave?

Kara: You don’t really mean that.

Cat: Oh, I do. I am intensely germ-phobic. And I’m not crazy about Leslie’s new do. It’s very Katy Perry.

Kara: If you didn’t care about Leslie, you wouldn’t be paying for this hospital room.

Hard-hearted Cat, whom Leslie disrespected, is paying for Leslie’s hospital and is very concerned about her well being. However, she need not be so concerned. No sooner does Cat leave her bedside than Leslie wakes with super-human powers. She can become and shoot electricity. Once she discovers this, she also realizes how she wants to use this power — revenge.

Source
Source

Kara: But how did this happen to her? Just because she was hit by lightning?

Hank: She didn’t get hit by lightning. You did. You’re Element X. Normal electrostatic discharge intensified as it passed through your Kryptonian DNA, picking up unknown properties. That’s what’s created her.

Kara: So it’s my fault she’s this way?

Kara has a similar conversation with Cat, only she gets a very different answer:

Cat: I should have pushed Leslie. Held her to a higher standard. The more awful she was, the more I rewarded her. Leslie turning into Livewire, that started a long time ago. It’s my fault. I turned her into a monster.

Cat ends up offering herself up as bait, and she and Supergirl take Livewire down before she can hurt anyone else. Here’s where Supergirl meets the Bible. The Bible is big on the insides being bigger than the outsides. On the heart of man mattering more than they outer packaging. Cat teaches us that it was not the lightning or Supergirl that made Leslie into Livewire. It was what was inside of Leslie, her heart.

Both Supergirl and Leslie have faced hardship and trials. Leslie chooses to channel that pain into inflicting pain on others first as a radio host with her words, then as a super-villan. Presented with powers and choices of her own, Supergirl chooses to channel those into helping others — even her enemies if she can.

Inside her heart, Leslie was ungrateful, snarky, and bitter. She chose ungratefulness over thankfulness. On the contrary, Kara focuses on what she is grateful for. At her Friends-giving she suggests everyone go around and say what they are thankful for. Granted, she’s the only one who gets to share as the party is broken up by a dispute between Alex and Mom. However, at the end of the episode, Winn shares what he is thankful for:

Winn: So, I didn’t get to tell you what I was thankful for.

Kara: Well, you were in the middle of a war zone.

Winn: My dad’s in prison.

Kara: Winn, I’m so sorry.

Winn: Don’t be sorry. He’s a pretty bad person and he deserves to be there. Uh, anyways, so my family doesn’t really do holidays. So, I mean, even with all the nuttiness of yours, I’m just grateful to have been included. (STAMMERS) What I’m grateful for is you.

Gratefulness is a choice we make. And each choice we make to be grateful over being ungrateful transforms us more and more into Superheros. Each choice we make to be grateful transforms us more into Love and cleanses us of hate.

Find something to be thankful for today — feed the superhero within.

Cat: The world is full of so much noise and snark, much of it we generate. Today, why don’t we elevate this city’s level of discourse instead with a photo essay of all the people who spent their holidays volunteering at soup kitchens and shelters. Let’s not see if we can’t bring some attention to those organizations.

And, the best part, our gratefulness is infectious. Look what the influence of Supergirl has done to hard-hearted Cat. Don’t hate your enemies, love them. It is much more effective.

“To you who are ready for the truth, I say this: Love your enemies. Let them bring out the best in you, not the worst. When someone gives you a hard time, respond with the energies of prayer for that person. If someone slaps you in the face, stand there and take it. If someone grabs your shirt, giftwrap your best coat and make a present of it. If someone takes unfair advantage of you, use the occasion to practice the servant life. No more tit-for-tat stuff. Live generously.

“Here is a simple rule of thumb for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you; then grab the initiative and do it for them! If you only love the lovable, do you expect a pat on the back? Run-of-the-mill sinners do that. If you only help those who help you, do you expect a medal? Garden-variety sinners do that. If you only give for what you hope to get out of it, do you think that’s charity? The stingiest of pawnbrokers does that.

“I tell you, love your enemies. Help and give without expecting a return. You’ll never—I promise—regret it. Live out this God-created identity the way our Father lives toward us, generously and graciously, even when we’re at our worst. Our Father is kind; you be kind. ~ Luke 6:27-36 MSG

Transcript from: http://transcripts.foreverdreaming.org/viewtopic.php?f=297&t=23810

 

 

