Happy Superhero Monday to you! Today we are going to continue on with Supergirl in her latest (until tonight) adventure, Red Faced. If you’ve caught the episode, it is all about anger management. If you haven’t, be warned that all my posts have spoilers. Sorry, that’s the nature of story analysis.

The episode opens with Supergirl going on a relaxing fly. She isn’t racing off to save the world, she’s just enjoying the peace of being up in the air. But this wouldn’t be a story with out conflict, so Supergirl’s R&R is cut short by two men inthralled in high-speed road-rage. As they play bumper cars, they are completely unaware of the pack of children crossing the street. Supergirl slams down on the cars, stopping them right before they take out the children. Rather than be grateful, one of the motorists gets upset with Supergirl for damaging his car and attempts to punch her. She’s Supergirl, dude, you’re more likely to hurt yourself than her. However, Supergirl stops his hand in mid-air. Usually that would be it for the peace-loving superhero, but this time Supergirl takes justice a step further and twists the man’s arm, hurting him. Not at all typical Supergirl behavior. She’s all about talking through issues with mad aliens set on destroying the world, but something has snapped in her this episode—she’s angry.

Hank: What were you thinking?

Supergirl: They were about to run over an entire soccer team. It’s always men who go crazy behind the wheel!

Hank: You cannot lose control like that!

Supergirl: Those two idiots nearly killed people, and you’re getting mad at me?

Hank: That’s the thing Ms. Danvers, I am not mad. I am controlling my anger. I suggest you get into the habit.

Supergirl’s moment of anger turned her from Hero Who Saved Children into Hero Who Scared Children.

Whoever is slow to anger is better than the mighty, and he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city. ~ Proverbs 16:32 ESV

A bit later, when Supergirl is back to being Kara, she finds out that James invited his girl friend, Lucy, to office game night. Brushing off her irritation at this development, she smiles and tells James,

Kara: The more the merrier….And who doesn’t like being merry?

I don’t think anyone would say they would rather be angry than joyful, but many of us are. Kara is dealing with a lot of rage that she can’t pinpoint the source of, but she doesn’t want to be angry. She wants to be merry. She wants her joy back.

Supergirl: I don’t say this often, but I am craving a good fight right now.

The military is ordering Supergirl to join forces with them. As a test, they want her to fight their new robot creation and defeat it. She does, but as they are yelling into her ear piece to stop the fight and back off, Kara’s rage resurfaces. She continues to beat the robot until it switches into self-preservation mode. The problem is, preservation mode means turning into an uncontrollable killing machine which has now been released on National City.

An angry person starts fights; a hot-tempered person commits all kinds of sin. ~ Proverbs 29:22 NLT

Kara’s anger has gotten out of control and has stirred up conflict. One she will have to get to the bottom of and subdue before it literally destroys everyone around her.

But Kara is not the only character dealing with inner rage-filled demons, Cat is being visited by her mother—a woman who is nearly as rage-inducing as Umbridge. Cat unleashes this anger in a tirade on Kara, and Kara snaps, yelling back:

Kara: Don’t talk to me like that! Please! I work so hard for you! I don’t ask questions, I don’t complain, and all you do is yell at me and tell me I’m not good enough. And it’s mean! Why are you so mean? Oh, my God! I’m I’m so sorry.
I didn’t mean that. (STAMMERING) I don’t know what happened. I just snapped.

Source
Source

Kara’s outburst awakens Cat to what is going on. They are both dealing with deep-seeded anger that is surfacing and being flung at anyone who even minutely irritates them. So, Cat takes Kara out for a drink and some wisdom…

Cat: Here’s the thing, Kara, everybody gets angry. Everybody. And there is no pill that will eradicate this particular emotion. I know this because if there were such a pill I would be popping those babies like Pez….Then what do you do? – Well, you need to find a release. You need to take up some boxing or start screaming at your housekeeper. But the real key Kara, is that you need to figure out what’s really bothering you.

Kara takes this advice and, with James by her side, does both. Each time they say something they are angry about, they get to punch a punching bag in James’s case or a car in Kara’s.

Source
Source

Kara: So say what you’re mad about and then let the fists fly.

James: Okay. I can’t stand Lucy’s dad.

Kara: I can’t stand him either.

James: I hate how he gets involved in our relationship, and I’m not holding Lucy back.

Kara:I can’t stand the way Cat treats me. (GRUNTING)

James: And I really cannot stand how he talks about your cousin!

Kara: I hate how my emotions get the best of me. And I hate how my sister doesn’t know what happened to her father. And I hate that I am never gonna get to have a normal life! (GRUNTING) Oh, my God Cat was right. There is anger behind the anger.

James: Are there like extra emotions that I don’t know about it in Krypton?

Kara: No, no, I thought I thought I was mad seeing you, seeing you and Lucy makes me think that I am never gonna have what you two have. Someone who knows everything about me. (INHALES) My perfect partner at a game night.

James: Kara, you’ll find someone.

Kara: Growing up on Earth, I never felt normal. And I always thought that if I started to use my powers, my life would make sense. But I’m realizing that being myself doesn’t make me feel more normal. And it never will. Because my normal life, ended the second my parents put me on that ship. And that makes me so mad.

Source
Source

Kara discovers what she is really angry about. She’s angry that her parents put her on the ship and sent her away. That, because of that, she’ll never have a normal life and may never have a relationship like James and Lucy’s.

Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and give no opportunity to the devil. ~ Ephesians 4:26-27 ESV

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God. ~ James 1:19-20 ESV

Kara has been holding onto this anger for awhile and it has finally festered and made itself known. When we allow our anger to grow over time, we give it an opportunity to change us from beings of Love (of God) into instruments of Hate (of anti-God, anti-Christ, anti-Love); which ends up stirring up more hate in others (like one spark that sets a forest on fire). Therefore it is very important for us to identify when anger is in our hearts and deal with it; “control” it, as Hank said in the beginning of this episode. If not, that one spark could cause much more damage than just to our own hearts.

Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you. ~ Ephesians 4:31-32 ESV

**Transcripts from: www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/

 

