Happy Throwback Thursday! I don’t know about you, but lately the Hubby and I have been watching a lot of our old favorite Christmas movies. Both born in the 80’s and doing most of our growing up in the 90’s, we naturally share a common nostalgia for Home Alone. As we were re-watching #1 and #2, I realized something about the movies that I hadn’t as a child—they are highly Christian in their message. Most of us remember the famous scenes of mayhem in which Kevin defends his home (and in the second movie, the toy store); but before the mayhem breaks out, Kevin has a Christian-everyman moment where he goes to the cross to gather his strength for battle…

Source
Source

OLD MAN MARLEY: You live next to me, don’t you? (Kevin nods) You can say hello when you see me. You don’t have to be afraid. There’s a lot of things going around about me, but none of it’s true. Okay? (Kevin nods) You’ve been a good boy this year?

KEVIN: I think so.

OLD MAN MARLEY: You swear to it?

KEVIN: No.

OLD MAN MARLEY: I had a feeling. Well, this is the place to be if you’re feeling bad about yourself.

KEVIN: It is?

OLD MAN MARLEY: I think so.

KEVIN: Are you feeling bad about yourself?

OLD MAN MARLEY: No.

KEVIN: I’ve been kind of a pain lately. I said some things I shouldn’t have. I really haven’t been too good this year.

OLD MAN MARLEY: Yeah.

KEVIN: I’m kind of upset because I really like my family, even though sometimes I say I don’t. Sometimes I even think I don’t. Do you get that?

OLD MAN MARLEY: I think so. How you feel about your family is a complicated thing.

KEVIN: Especially with an older brother.

OLD MAN MARLEY: Deep down, you’ll always love him. But you can forget that you love him. You can hurt them, and they can hurt you. That’s not just because you’re young. You want to know the real reason why I’m here right now?

KEVIN: Sure.

OLD MAN MARLEY: I came to hear my granddaughter sing. And I can’t come hear her tonight.

KEVIN: You have plans?

OLD MAN MARLEY: No. I’m not welcome.

KEVIN: At church?

OLD MAN MARLEY: You’re always welcome at church. I’m not welcome with my son. Years back, before you and your family moved on the block, I had an argument with my son.

KEVIN: How old is he?

OLD MAN MARLEY: He’s grown up. We lost our tempers, and I said I didn’t care to see him anymore. He said the same, and we haven’t spoken to each other since.

KEVIN: If you miss him, why don’t you call him?

OLD MAN MARLEY: I’m afraid if I call that he won’t talk to me.

KEVIN: How do you know?

OLD MAN MARLEY: I don’t know. I’m just afraid he won’t.

KEVIN: No offense, but aren’t you a little old to be afraid?

OLD MAN MARLEY: You can be a little old for a lot of things. You’re never too old to be afraid.

KEVIN: That’s true. I’ve always been afraid of our basement. It’s dark, there’s weird stuff down there, and it smells funny; that sort of thing. It’s bothered me for years.

OLD MAN MARLEY: Basements are like that.

KEVIN: I made myself go down to do some laundry, and I found out it’s not so bad. All this time I’ve been worried about it, but if you turn on the lights, it’s no big deal.

OLD MAN MARLEY: What’s your point?

KEVIN: My point is, you should call your son.

OLD MAN MARLEY: What if he won’t talk to me?

KEVIN: At least you’ll know. Then you could stop worrying about it. Then you won’t have to be afraid anymore. I don’t care how mad I was, I’d talk to my dad. Especially around the holidays.

OLD MAN MARLEY: I don’t know.

KEVIN: Just give it a shot, for your granddaughter anyway. I’m sure she misses you, and the presents.

OLD MAN MARLEY: I send her a check.

KEVIN: I wish my grandparents did that. They always send me clothes. Last year I got a sweater with a big bird knitted on it.

OLD MAN MARLEY: Oh, that’s nice.

KEVIN: Not for a guy in the second grade. You can get beat up for something like that.

OLD MAN MARLEY: Oh?

KEVIN: Yeah. I have a friend who got nailed because there was a rumor he wore dinosaur pajamas.

OLD MAN MARLEY: You better run along home where you belong. Think about what I said. All right?

KEVIN: Okay.

OLD MAN MARLEY: It’s nice talking to you.

KEVIN: Nice talking to you. (Old Man Marley and Kevin shake hands) What about you?

OLD MAN MARLEY: Me?

KEVIN: Yeah. You and your son.

OLD MAN MARLEY: We’ll see what happens. Merry Christmas.

Kevin goes to church and is met with the man he is terrified of to learn a few key lessons that will help him (and us) before he heads out to face his mission—defending his home.

1. To Christ is the place to go if we are feeling bad about ourselves.

With Christ, all are welcome, especially those of us who have a lot to feel bad about. He came to save us from ourselves, really. And he sends his Helper to all those who ask for him.

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30 NLT

2. We are always welcome with Christ (and should be always welcome at Church).

Christ came in the world to show us God’s love for us (all of us), and to offer us God’s forgiveness so we can all walk hand-in-hand with our Father throughout all our days. No longer do we have to be alone in this life. Now we have the option of having Him, the one who loves us more than anyone else, as our constant companion, helper, advocate, and friend.

“For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through him. ~ John 3:16-17 NLT

3. Light drives out our fears.

Dumbledore said that, “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.” For Kevin, he faced his fear of the basement by turning on the light, and he uses his example as an illustration for Marley to turn on the light to fight his own fear—calling his son. What is this light Kevin is telling Marley to use as they both sit in the church? Love. For God is Love, and God is Light. Therefore when we turn on His Love, we shine Light into the dark, scary places of our lives.

God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them. ~ 1 John 4:16 NLT
This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all. ~ 1 John 1:5 NLT

Watch Home Alone this Christmas season. It is not just a fun movie from the 90’s, it is a sermon on Love and Light. 🙂

Source
Source

**Transcript from: http://genius.com/John-hughes-home-alone-annotated

