Happy Throwback Thursday. Last week we looked at Home Alone #1, so this week we are going to dive into Home Alone #2. In this movie, Kevin doesn’t get left at home, he gets left at the airport and boards the wrong flight landing him in NYC rather than Florida.

After checking into a hotel and getting himself settled, Kevin heads to Duncan’s Toy Chest — a massive toy store. Unbeknownst to Kevin, he gets into a chat with Mr. Duncan himself and learns that Duncan loves kids. Children bring him a lot of joy so, every year, he donates everything the store brings in on Christmas to the local children’s hospital. Inspired but Duncan’s generosity, Kevin gives him $20 to add to the pile.

Kevin: I’m not supposed to spend this, but I have $20 in a jar in our garage…where my brother can’t find it. So I can pay my mother back. So give this to Mr. Duncan. The hospital needs it more than I do. Besides, I’ll probably spend it on stuff that will rot my teeth and mind.

In exchange for his generosity, Mr. Duncan gives him two turtle dove ornaments…

Duncan: Well, “two turtle doves.” And I tell you what you do. You keep one and give the other one to a very special person. You see, turtle doves…are a symbol of friendship and love. Now, as long as each of you have your turtle dove…you’ll be friends forever.

Kevin: Wow, I never knew that. I thought they were just part of a song. They are. And for that very special reason.

Though the true origin of “The Twelve Days of Christmas” is unknown, some claim that each of the gifts represent something within the Catholic faith. It is claimed the song was written during a time of persecution as a way of remembering the faith. From the bit of research I did, the turtle doves are thought to represent the Old and New Testament, and the two natures of Christ— human and divine. However, what first struck me with the turtle doves is that the Holy Spirit is rendered as a dove when he descends upon Christ. And, when Christ ascended into heaven he sent down the Holy Spirit to reside in his followers (whom he calls his friends at the Last Supper). So, in a way, Christ is like Kevin. He has two turtle doves. The one that is in him, and the one he gives us when we become his friends because he loves us. As long as we hold tight to our turtle dove, we will be friends forever (we will experience eternal life with him).

Highly symbolic, I think. But let’s not stop here, who does Kevin (the Christian-everyman symbol) give his turtle dove to?

Source
Source

Kevin is saved by the lady who once scared him because she was always covered in birds. She then takes him back to where she lives in the attic of a theater. There, Kevin learns a bit more about his unlikely savior.

Lady: I’m like the birds I care for. People pass me in the street. They see me but they try to ignore me. They prefer I wasn’t in their city…. I wasn’t always like this…. I had a job. I had a home. I had a family.

Kevin: Any kids?

Lady: No. I wanted them. But the man I loved fell out of love with me. That broke my heart. When the chance to be loved came along again…I ran away from it. I stopped trusting people….. Sometimes you can trust a person and then, when things are down, they forget about you.

Kevin: Maybe they’re just too busy. Maybe they don’t forget about you, but they forget to remember you. People don’t mean to forget. My grandfather says if my head wasn’t screwed on, I’d leave it on the school bus.

Lady: I’m just afraid if I do trust someone, I’ll get my heart broken.

The lady — who is pooped all over and friend to the most common of birds – represents all those Christ came for. Those who knew they were not perfect. Those who were lost. Christian-everyman and Christ-figure, Kevin goes with this battered lady back to her home (where “Come Let Us Adore Him” is playing in the background) and talks to her like a friend. When he discovers the heart of her problems, Christ-figure Kevin, breaks out into a parable…

Kevin: I understand. I had a nice pair of Rollerblades. I was afraid to wreck them so I kept them in a box. Do you know what happened? I outgrew them. I never wore them outside. Only in my room a few times.

Lady: A person’s heart and feelings are very different than skates.

Kevin: They’re kind of the same thing. If you won’t use your heart, who cares if it gets broken? If you just keep it to yourself, maybe it’ll be like my Rollerblades. When you do decide to try it, it won’t be any good. You should take a chance. Got nothing to lose…. Your heart might still be broken, but it isn’t gone. If it was gone, you wouldn’t be so nice.

Kevin teaches the lady that she may be broken, but she’s not unfixable. She still has love in her heart. How else could she have extended such kindness to Kevin? And, in turn, the lady imparts a lesson to Kevin…

Lady: Thank you. Do you know it’s been a couple of years since I’ve talked to anybody?… So what are you doing alone on Christmas Eve? Did you get into trouble?

Kevin: Yeah.

Lady: You did something wrong?

Kevin: A lot of things.

Lady: Did you know that a good deed erases a bad deed?

Kevin: It’s late. I don’t know if I’ll have enough time to do enough good deeds to erase all my bad ones.

Lady: It’s Christmas Eve. Good deeds count extra tonight…. Think of an important thing you can do for others and go do it. Just follow the star in your heart.

Kevin: Okay. It’s getting pretty late. I’d better get going. If I don’t see you, I hope
everything turns out okay…. If you need somebody to trust, it can be me. I won’t forget to remember you.

Lady: Don’t make promises you can’t keep.

Kevin is back to being the Christian-everyman, confessing his imperfections and lack of ability to redeem himself. But, wait! There is a solution. Because it is Christmas Eve — the night associated with Christ’s birth — good deeds count for double. The lady tells him to follow the star in his heart. Well, there was a star on Christmas Eve that led the wise men to Jesus, where they brought him gifts. In telling Kevin to follow the star in his heart, the lady is essentially telling Kevin to follow the guidance of the Spirit (dove) in the ways of Christ, which will lead him closer to Christ, and Christ has the ability to cleanse Kevin of all the wrong he’s done. In essence, we are seeing the transformation of man into Christian-everyman; and then the call to go out and be like Christ to the world.

This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.

Dear friends, since God loved us that much, we surely ought to love each other. No one has ever seen God. But if we love each other, God lives in us, and his love is brought to full expression in us. ~ 1 John 4:10-12 NLT

 

Kevin then goes on to save the money in Duncan’s chest from being stolen so that the hospital does not lose out on the donation. He then prays at the Christmas tree to have his family back, and his mom shows up. (Give and you will be given to.) Kevin turns from an unforgiving, sullen, lost, boy into a loving, saving, caring, generous, blessed little-Christ. And then he follows the great commission and passes his knew found love, forgiveness, and friendship on…

Kevin: I got something for you.

Lady: What’s this?

Kevin: It’s a turtle dove. I have one. You have one. As long as we each have a turtle dove, we’ll be friends forever.

Lady: Oh, Kevin. Thank you.

Kevin: I won’t forget you. Trust me.

Being a Christian is about love and friendship. Christ came to show us God’s love and extend his hand of friendship. Now it is our job to extend his hand of friendship and love to others.

Merry Christmas!

Source
Source

Transcript from: http://www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/

 

