Happy Potter Tuesday! This week we move on to chapter 4 of Sorcerer’s (Philosopher’s) Stone, the one where Hagrid comes knocking. If you are anything like me, this was the chapter that really hooked you into Harry’s story. This is the chapter where the magic begins. Complete with a giant, a magical umbrella, and a letter to Hogwarts.

 

Source
Source

But, what I love most about The Keeper of the Keys chapter is that Harry finds out that he’s not an un-loved orphan with no certainty or direction. He was very loved. His parents were great. And they passed that greatness on to him. He’s not just an orphan boy anymore, now he’s a wizard. An’ a thumpin’ good’un, at that.

I think we are all seeking to know that we are not just people, but that we have purpose. That there is something magical born into us that we can carry on and do great things with. The problem is our world wants us to just think we are chemistry experiments, or the results of a moments passion. Cells that have come together for no specific purpose, but just because that is what cells do. But that’s not what the Bible says. The Bible says that God uniquely wove each of us together. That, no matter how other people feel about us, we are wonderful creations deeply loved by our creator.

My favorite Psalm is Psalm 139. In it, David talks about how God makes us and feels about us. Here’s a snippet:

O Lord, you have examined my heart
    and know everything about me.
You know when I sit down or stand up.
    You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.
You see me when I travel
    and when I rest at home.
    You know everything I do.
You know what I am going to say
    even before I say it, Lord.
You go before me and follow me.
    You place your hand of blessing on my head.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
    too great for me to understand!

I can never escape from your Spirit!
    I can never get away from your presence!
If I go up to heaven, you are there;
    if I go down to the grave, you are there.
If I ride the wings of the morning,
    if I dwell by the farthest oceans,
even there your hand will guide me,
    and your strength will support me.
I could ask the darkness to hide me
    and the light around me to become night—
     but even in darkness I cannot hide from you.
To you the night shines as bright as day.
    Darkness and light are the same to you.

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
    and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
    Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
    as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
You saw me before I was born.
    Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
    before a single day had passed.

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
    They cannot be numbered!
I can’t even count them;
    they outnumber the grains of sand!
And when I wake up,
    you are still with me! ~ Psalm 139 NLT

Whenever I read this Psalm, it is like having the Keeper of Keys of Heaven come and tell me that I am known, I am loved, and I have a purpose. It is a reminder that I matter; that we all matter.

If you’re reading this and you need a reminder, here it is:

You matter. God loves you. He has a purpose for you.

Merry Christmas,

Scribble Inkwell (AKA Nicole L Rivera)

Shameless Plug:If you’re looking to learn more about God and you love Harry Potter, check out Finding Unauthorized Faith in Harry Potter, Devotions from the Wizarding World

2940152053326_p0_v1_s192x300

