Happy Throwback Thursday! If you haven’t noticed, I’m a huge CBS Supergirl fan. Sadly the show is on break until January. To fill the void, I’ve picked up a few of the comic books (circa 2005). Of course, they are amazing, so I have to share them with you, starting with #1A:

1115227

The story opens with Supergirl, who has lost much of her memory, giving us a bit of her backstory. Her parents put her on a spaceship that was supposed to follow her baby cousin to another planet but got lodged in the debris of her home planet for many years. Supergirl didn’t age since she was stuck in a state of suspended animation, so when she arrived on Earth, she was still a teen and Superman had far out aged and grown her. Kara’s spaceship landed in Gotham City, where Batman found her. But that is all she remembers.

“Me? I’m Kara Zor-El. Supergirl. I guess. Eventually. I hope.”

Waking up still a teen with superpowers and a muddy memory of why you are on another planet would cause the best of us to incur a few identity issues. Kara’s not sure who she is supposed to be, especially since she’s not the first girl with the title: Supergirl. Kara seeks out Superman’s other cousin, Power Girl, for help.

thumb-350-133176

Problem: When Supergirl and Power Girl touch, there is an energy overload and Power Girl starts attacking. Supergirl feels lost and rejected; and so does Power Girl. Power Girl’s identity had been as Superman’s cousin, and it meant a lot to her. With Kara on Earth, Power Girl feels confused about her role. But Power Girl does give Supergirl a piece information and wisdom—she felt something dark inside Supergirl, which Kara should look into. Then Power Girl leaves Supergirl alone, confused, and feeling even more rejected.

“Who am I…? I thought Power Girl would at least give me some things to go on. Instead, all I’ve done is screw up her life maybe even worse than mine.”

Superman had once told Kara, “…when you have a problem turn to family…” But Kara’s problem is with her family. Instead, she goes to Superboy, the closest thing to family she’s got. But even he tells her to get away. (The story to be continued in #2.)

sg 2-03

Superman’s advice is probably good in some matters. Our family, ideally, should be our support system and sounding board. The problem is that sometimes our family might not be composed of the best role models, or they may be way more messed up than we are at the moment, or they may not want anything to do with us. What then?

Supergirl faces this question. It is not an easy one to answer. Who do we turn to when all the people we are supposed to turn to have turned their backs on us?

Honestly, I don’t know the 100% correct answer to that question for every situation. All I know is what I do. I pray about it. I look for teachings in the Bible that can give me direction. And, if I still feel unsure, I seek wise counsel.

What qualifies as wise counsel? To me I look for someone who is living the life I’m striving to live, so that means that they are very strong in their faith, they are humble and generous, they are loving and servant leaders. They exude the fruits of the Spirit. And, then I just don’t ask one such person for advice, but a few. Even the wisest person still makes wrong choices from time to time. Once I’ve gathered a few wise perspectives, I go back to prayer, and then I make a choice and move forward.

The Bible says:

Where there is no guidance, a people falls, but in an abundance of counselors there is safety. ~ Proverbs 11:14 ESV

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work. ~ 2 Timothy 3:16-17 ESV

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. ~ Psalm 119:105 ESV

If you feel lost, consider stopping for a moment and seeking wise counsel. First in God, and then in those who truly live out God (who is Love) in their lives.

Even superheroes need advice from time to time. 😉

 

 

