Happy Friday! For this week’s Friday with Friends, we’re going to hit the rugby pitch with Ross (warning: bring protective gear, this sport is more brutal than some Quidditch matches). In this episode Ross decides he needs to prove his manliness to his girlfriend, Emily, by taking up her two very strong male friends in a game of rugby.

Source
Source

Joey: Man look at this! Ross, I can’t believe you said you’d play rugby. I mean look how brutal this is!

Ross: Hey, I can handle it! All right?

Rachel: Please, Ross, you-you got hurt playing badminton with my dad.

Ross: That’s ‘cause-‘cause you’re mom’s dog kept-kept looking at me.

Joey: (pointing to the TV) Okay, Ross, look-look-look-look, look right here. That’s called a scrum, okay? It’s kinda like a huddle.

Ross: And is a hum, kinda like a scruddle?

Joey: Ross! (Laughs) They’re gonna kill you!

Phoebe: Well, why are you doing this anyway?

Ross: Well, you should’ve seen the guy that she used to go out with. I mean, he’s like Joe Rugby.

Phoebe: You’re kidding! And he plays rugby?! That’s so funny. (Realizes) Ohh! I see how you did that. All right.

Ross: Anyway, she thought the very idea of me playing rugby with him was like hilarious. So I’m gonna show her how tough I really am!

Rachel: (starts laughing, Ross stares at her) I’m sorry. I’m sorry. You’re right, you are a tough guy. You’re the toughest paleontologist I know.

Source
Source

Ross thinks proving himself on the rugby field will prove his manliness. If you’ve watched the episode, you’ll know that he does “win” but he gets pretty badly beaten up. And he only wins because of advice he receives from Emily.

This episode got me thinking:

What is it that makes a man a man?

Granted, I’m a woman, but when I think of a manly-man, I think of King David. He was a mighty warrior, he killed lions with his hands, he slew a giant that intimidated the entire Israelite army, the people adored him and sang about his conquests in the streets. BUT, he also wrote poetry and songs. He cried. He danced. He played the harp. He was strong but also soft. He was brave but also sensitive. He was feared but also adored.

David was a “man after God’s own heart.”

But God removed Saul and replaced him with David, a man about whom God said, ‘I have found David son of Jesse, a man after my own heart. He will do everything I want him to do.’ ~ Acts 13:22 NLT

But Samuel replied, “What is more pleasing to the LORD: your burnt offerings and sacrifices or your obedience to his voice? Listen! Obedience is better than sacrifice, and submission is better than offering the fat of rams. Rebellion is as sinful as witchcraft, and stubbornness as bad as worshiping idols. So because you have rejected the command of the LORD, he has rejected you as king.” ~ 1 Samuel 15:22-23 NLT

According to the Bible, what makes a manly-man (a man after God’s own heart, to me, is a manly-man) is not who he defeats or how many trophies he wins; what makes a manly man is his heart. That he chooses God’s will over his will. That when he’s afraid, he still believes because his trust is in God.

It’s like in Deathly Hallows when Harry chooses to be Dumbledore’s man through and through. I love that moment. He takes a stand. Being Dumbledore’s man isn’t popular, and it is definitely not easy, but it shows us Harry’s heart. That he would choose Dumbledore’s will over his own, trusting the Headmaster even when he has every reason not to, that is what makes Harry a man.

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” ~ Dumbledore

Transcript from: http://uncutfriendsepisodes.tripod.com/

