What better way to spend Friday than with Friends? Since it’s the New Year and all, let’s look at The One with All the Resolutions:

Source
Source

Ross: Just the one divorce in ’99! Y’know what, I am gonna be happy this year. I am gonna make myself happy.

Chandler: Do you want us to leave the room, or?

Ross: Everyday I am gonna do one thing that I haven’t done before. That my friends is my New Year’s resolution.

Aren’t all resolutions that way? We set a goal because we believe that if we achieve it our lives will be better; and our favorite Friends are just the same…

Phoebe: Ooh! That’s a good one! Mine is to pilot a commercial jet.

Ross: In fact, I’ll bet you 50 bucks that you can’t go the whole year without making fun of us. Eh, y’know what, better yet? A week.

Chandler: I’ll take that bet my friend. And you know what, paying me the 50 bucks could be the “new thing you do that day!” (Ross looks at him.) And it starts right now!

Joey: All right, my New Year’s resolution is to learn how to play the guitar.

Rachel: All right. Ok. Fine-fine. My new year’s resolution will be not to gossip! Easy though.

Monica: No! To take more pictures of all of us together. I mean I really think it’s the best resolution because everyone will enjoy the pictures.

There is nothing wrong with setting goals and working hard to reach them. That is how we grow. However, when we do so as a way to “make ourselves happy,” we are setting ourselves up for failure.

Monica: We heard about your pants, I’m so sorry.

Ross: This year was supposed to be great! But, it’s only the second day and I’m a loser with stupid leather pants that don’t even fit!

All: No. No, you’re not a loser.

Ross: Look at me! (Chandler squeaks in an attempt not to make fun of him.)

Monica: Hey, hey, look. Look Ross, Ben drew a picture of you! (Shows him Ben’s picture.) Huh? You’re-you’re a cowboy!

Ross: Oh, be-because of the leather pants.

 

Ross gets a pair of leather pants and goes on a date. Only problem is that he starts sweating profusely because leather pants don’t breath. Joey walks Ross through putting powder and lotion on his legs to get his pants back up, but the concoction forms a sort of paste. Ross is forced to reveal his pant-less, pasty-legged self to his date and make the walk of shame all the way back to Monica & Rachel’s apartment.

Source
Source

Ross’s resolution did not bring him happiness. Rather what he already had, his relationship with his son, is what brings him happiness. There is no way that we can make ourselves happy by achieving a goal. We can have a moment of victory, a celebration, a burst of accomplishment, but long term happiness (which I like to call joy) comes from within. It comes from a relationship of unconditional love like that of father and son, parent and child, God and child.

So, as you are making and striving to achieve your goals this year, remember why you are doing whatever you’ve set out to do—to grow yourself. To improve. To become better. NOT for everlasting joy. For everlasting joy look to love, look to the love shared between Father above and us, his children.

I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit. ~ Romans 15:13 NLT

 

Happy 2016 fandomers! 🙂

Source
Source

**Transcript from: http://uncutfriendsepisodes.tripod.com/

