Happy Friday with Friends! An especially happy Friday because this week NBC announced they are airing a two-hour reunion special with all six cast members on Sunday, February 21st! Soooo looking forward to watching. But, for now, let’s look at the one where Monica massages….

Monica: Y’know, I don’t like to brag about it, but I give the best massages!

Chandler: All right, then massage me up right nice!

(She starts the massage, only she is doing extremely hard and Chandler is gasping in pain.)

Chandler: Ah! Ahh!! Ahh!!

Monica: It’s so good, isn’t it?

Chandler: It’s so good I don’t know what I’ve done to deserve it! (Chandler frantically tries to grab the timer.)

Monica: Oh hey, now stop trying to add more time to your massage. (Puts the timer behind her and continues to massage him) Say good-bye to sore muscles!

Chandler: Good-bye muscles!!

Monica’s massages are torture, but Chandler pretends to like them to spare her feelings.

Chandler: I’m telling you, she gives the worst massages ever!! Okay, it was like she was torturing me for information. And I wanted to give it up I just—I didn’t know what it was!

Joey: Chandler, if it really hurts that bad you should just tell her.

Chandler: Look, for the first time in my life I’m in a real relationship. Okay, I’m not gonna screw that up by y’know, telling the truth.

Why doesn’t Chandler want to tell the truth? He thinks it will ruin the first real relationship he’s ever had. He’s scared the truth will drive Monica away from him. And, I can’t say Chandler is alone in this type of behavior. Haven’t we all hidden our bits of the truth for fear the truth would drive an unhealable wedge in our relationships? (Please tell me I’m not alone in saying, yes!)

Monica: Phoebe, you do seem a little tense. Here, let me help you.

Phoebe: All right.

(She goes over and tries to give Phoebe a massage. Phoebe yelps in pain and jumps away from her.)

Phoebe: Oh! Get off!! Ow!! Oh, stop it!! Why?! Why are you doing that to me?!

Monica: What are you talking about?

Phoebe: As a masseuse and a human, I’m begging you, never do that to anyone!

Monica: (indignant) I give good massages! (Ross laughs.) I used to give them to Rachel all the time before she got allergic! And-and-and Chandler loves them! Watch! (She starts giving Chandler a massage.)

Phoebe: (seeing the look on Chandler’s face) He-he does not like it! He hates it! He’s in pain!

Monica: No he’s not!

Chandler: (wincing) Yes, he is!

Monica: What?!

Chandler: I’m sorry but, ow-owww-owww!

Monica: You’ve been lying to me? I can’t believe you’d do that.

Ross: Well, maybe he just didn’t want to hurt your feelings.

Monica: But the minute we start to lie to each other… (Pauses after she realizes what she’s saying.) And by ‘we’ I mean society.

Chandler: (coming all the way in) Listen, I just wanted to apologize about this afternoon and the whole massage thing. Y’know? I-I really like ’em.

Monica: Oh, please, stop! Look, we’re supposed to be honest with each other. I-I just wish you could tell me—just say, “I don’t like your massages.”

Chandler: (falling into that trap) I don’t like your massages.

Monica: (starting to cry) See? It’s no big deal.

Chandler: Okay, but now see you’re crying!

Monica: I’m not crying about that! I’m crying about something that happened at work.

Chandler: What?

Monica: (bursting into tears) My boyfriend said he didn’t like my massages.

Chandler: It’s okay, you don’t have to be the best at everything.

Monica: Oh my God! You don’t know me at all!

Chandler: Okay, you give the worst massages in the world.

Monica: I’m crying here!!

Chandler: Okay, hear me out. Okay? You give the best bad massages. If anybody was looking for the best bad massage and they were thinking to themselves, “Who’s the best of that?” They’d have to go to you.

Monica: Huh. So you’re saying like umm, if there was an award for the best bad massage, well who would get that?

Chandler: Oh, it would be you! You! Monica! And you’d get all the votes!

Monica: So maybe they could umm, call the award the Monica?

Chandler: Absolutely!

Monica: Okay. I suck!

Chandler: Yeah! (They hug.)

It is always best to tell the truth, but we don’t have to do so in a mean way. The best part of Chandler telling Monica the truth (the second time), is that he does so in a way that he knows will console her and even help her embrace the truth.

These are the things that you shall do: Speak the truth to one another; render in your gates judgments that are true and make for peace; ~ Zechariah 8:16 ESV

The Bible tells us to speak the truth in love, and I think that is what Chandler does when he finally owns up to Monica that she is the best worst massage giver ever. Be truthful. Be truthful in love.

Source
Source

**Transcript from: http://uncutfriendsepisodes.tripod.com/

