Happy Superhero Monday! I’m super excited because another Supergirl episode is in the books, and oh boy are things getting good! Let’s take a gander…

The episode opens with Kara (as Ms. Grant) writing to Adam:

We all make mistakes, have regrets from our past, things we wish we could go back and change. In my case, my biggest regret is not being there for you. I know that my choices may have hurt you in ways I can never understand but, if you’re willing, I’d like to try and make things right between us. It won’t be easy. Nothing worthwhile ever is. But life is short. And when all is said and done, there is nothing more important than family.

Supergirl episodes (good stories in general) open with some goal or issue, wrap around in a circle, and then come back to where they started with the characters changed by the transformation. Kind of like the Israelites in Moses’s time. They got to the edge of the Promised Land, but didn’t think it was conquerable, so they wandered in the desert for 40 years, growing, learning, experiencing, birthing a new generation. Then, when they come back, they were ready to face what they first set out to do. Stories (good stories) are structured like this.

So, Supergirl starts by sending a letter to Cat Grant’s son, Adam (played by Melissa’s real-life Hubby) stating two important messages that we’ll spend the entire episode exploring, and later conquering:

  1. We all make mistakes, have regrets from our past.
  2. There is nothing more important than family.

The two main storylines that explore these messages are that of Cat Grant and her son Adam; and J’onn J’onzz, the White Martian, and Madam Senator. Supergirl acts as their teacher while learning to give Winn time and space to work through his feelings for her.

Sometimes it’s easier to face the past with a little help. ~ Kara

After Cat threatens to fire Kara for interfering in her life, she relents to having dinner with her son. After all, he’s there, and he wants to see her…

Kara: So, uh, should I make a dinner reservation, or am I fired? Uh Um.
Cat: Make a reservation. And Ker-rah? I’m going to make your life hell.
Kara: It’s worth it. Family always is.

But, without Kara, things turn into a disaster. So, naturally, she places the blame she can’t deal with at Kara’s feet.

Source
Source

Meanwhile, the Senator is giving her speech about the danger of aliens, labeling them all monsters when a monster explodes out of the ground. Specifically a White Martian. One of the monsters that took over Hank’s planet, and sent the Green Martians into conditions reminiscent of the Holocaust. They kept the men alive and sent the women and children to the furnace. Hank escaped. Now he needs Supergirl and Alex to help him face and overcome his past.

Source
Source

But first, Supergirl mediates a coffee date between Cat and Adam…

Kara: Well, I know you both have a lot you really wanna say to each other.

Cat: I’ve been informed that I’ve already said too much.

Kara: And what you mean by that, despite the tone that we agreed you wouldn’t use, is that you may not have expressed yourself very well at dinner.

Adam: No, she expressed herself perfectly. Over, and over, and over.

Kara: And what you mean by that, is that you wish she had focused more on you because of all the years spent apart. Just say something to each other. Say something real. Even if it terrifies you. Just try.

Cat: I never got to put a picture that you’d drawn on the fridge. I never got to tell you stories. And I never got to teach you how not to be afraid of the world. And I never got to tell you how amazing I think you are. I never got to be your mom. But I am your biggest fan, Adam. And I’m so, so sad that I didn’t get to see you grow up.

Adam: You didn’t want me.

Cat: Oh, Adam. That is so not fair.

Kara: No, let him talk.

Adam: Did you miss me?

Cat: Of course I missed you. I missed you every second. I still miss you.

Adam: I missed you, too.

Source
Source

One family restored. One past conquered, Supergirl flies off to help Hank who has let his pain set him on a course to repay evil with evil…

J’onn, J’onn, listen to me. I lost everything. (VOICE BREAKING) Everyone. It makes a hole in your heart. But you can’t fall into it. You have to fill it. You have to fight. (GROANING) Do not throw away who you are. If you do, that thing wins. The Last Son of Mars dies, even if you’re still standing. ~ Supergirl

Source
Source

So J’onn choose the difficult, but right path. He lets the White Martian live despite all the people he loved that the White Martian’s killed. He takes the Martian into custody. He repays evil with good.

According to my word count we are about 900 words into this post without mentioning (other than Moses) any biblical tie-ins. So here they are:

1. We do all have a past. We do all have regrets. And we can’t face those alone.

 But now God has shown us a way to be made right with him without keeping the requirements of the law, as was promised in the writings of Moses and the prophets long ago. We are made right with God by placing our faith in Jesus Christ. And this is true for everyone who believes, no matter who we are.

For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. Yet God freely and graciously declares that we are righteous. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty for our sins. For God presented Jesus as the sacrifice for sin. People are made right with God when they believe that Jesus sacrificed his life, shedding his blood. This sacrifice shows that God was being fair when he held back and did not punish those who sinned in times past, for he was looking ahead and including them in what he would do in this present time. God did this to demonstrate his righteousness, for he himself is fair and just, and he declares sinners to be right in his sight when they believe in Jesus. ~ Romans 3:21-26 NLT

2. There is nothing more important than family.

For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother. ~ Matthew 12:50 ESV

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. ~ John 3:16 ESV

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. ~ Romans 5:8 ESV

Sometimes being a hero means making sacrifices. ~ Kara

3. We all have a hole in our heart left by the past that we need to fill.

The question is, do we fill that hole with the love of God or with something else? Do we chose the course that repays good for evil? Or take the easy road?

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. ~ Psalms 51:10 ESV

And next week we’ll hopefully see Supergirl and Adam on a date! Stay tuned. 😉

*Script from http://www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/

