Happy Friday with Friends! Today we are going to look at one of the most iconic and moving moments in the Friends TV series—the Song!

So no one told you life was gonna be this way
Your job’s a joke, you’re broke, your love life’s D.O.A.
It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear
When it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year, but

I’ll be there for you
(When the rain starts to pour)
I’ll be there for you
(Like I’ve been there before)
I’ll be there for you
(‘Cause you’re there for me too)

You’re still in bed at ten and work began at eight
You’ve burned your breakfast, so far things are going great
Your mother warned you there’d be days like these
But she didn’t tell you when the world has brought you down to your knees that

I’ll be there for you
(When the rain starts to pour)
I’ll be there for you
(Like I’ve been there before)
I’ll be there for you
(‘Cause you’re there for me too)

No one could ever know me
No one could ever see me
Seems you’re the only one who knows what it’s like to be me
Someone to face the day with, make it through all the rest with
Someone I’ll always laugh with
Even at my worst, I’m best with you, yeah!

It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear
When it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year

I’ll be there for you
(When the rain starts to pour)
I’ll be there for you
(Like I’ve been there before)
I’ll be there for you
(‘Cause you’re there for me too)

I’ll be there for you
(When the rain starts to pour)
I’ll be there for you
(Like I’ve been there before)
I’ll be there for you
(‘Cause you’re there for me too)

Okay, so these are the lyrics to the extended version. Which you can watch HERE. But I think they are true of the show Friends and of life as I’ve experienced it. The Friends theme song was the anthem of my twenties. Just about all of the above, except the love life part, came true. I was blessed enough to meet my husband shortly after my 22nd birthday. Granted the years between senior year of high school and meeting him were a train wreck.

No one had told me life was going to be this difficult. In high school, they affixed rose-colored glasses to our eyes then sent us out into a less than rosy world. They told us to go to college and everything would work out. You’ll be a success financially and in all areas. Maybe you did go to college and this rosy life of success became your reality, but it didn’t for me. I came out of college still not knowing what I wanted to do with my life, with a four-year degree in a career that I abhorred. Then, because I still didn’t know what I wanted to do, I decided to go to Law School, which I flunked out of. Why? Probably a combination of falling asleep in class (just two of my classes Property and Civil Procedure) on a regular basis; and Order of the Phoenix released on DVD the week of finals. Let’s just say I watched the movie 3x rather than studying.

I left Law School and the only thing I had going was my future husband who I was madly, deeply in love with (still am). I got a job as resource coordinator for the preschool ministry at my church while taking online classes for a masters in business (I was not an enthusiastic student). I worked crazy hours, substituting to make extra cash. The only reason I was not broke, is because I still lived with my parents and had no bills of my own other than gas for my car.

The hubby and I got engaged shortly thereafter. My father agreed to this arrangement on one contigency—he would pay for my wedding, if I got my masters. The wedding came first, during which I put my school work on hold deciding I did not want to pursue business. I also picked up another job as a teacher’s aide. We got married, I completed a few courses I needed to become a certified teacher, then all the layoffs happened. My friends who had been teaching for years were getting sacked due to budget cuts (my husband got laid off from his company, making us actually broke for the rest of my twenties; a reality we are *hopefully* on the mend from). And I also realized—I don’t want to be a teacher. BUT, during the time shortly after our wedding I did discover something I had always been passionate about, the thing that was right under my nose—stories. I decided to become a novelist, and I hit gold—sort of. It has been nearly 7 years, I have written just about every day, but not one of my stories has been published yet. I did manage to stumble into getting an agent and a publishing contract for a book I never intended on writing, see The Book. And I have an awesome position with MuggleNet where I get to be creative with my fav non-Bible fandom, Harry Potter.

What has seen me through all these ups, downs, and unexpected predicaments? Friendship. My friendship with God through Christ which I stumbled into just shy of my 20th birthday. My friendship with my family members, and especially my parents. My life-long friendship with two amazing people, Shawn and Jenny, who have literally been through every moment of life with me and haven’t turned away. Their friendship is a priceless gift I cherish dearly, and also just stumbled upon (almost literally since I was one-year-old when they were both born and not very coordinated). I could not imagine my life without them. My friendship with all the other amazing people I’ve gotten to do life with Barry, Marisa, Jo Anne, Lisa, to name a few. My friendship with my MuggleNet family. And my friendship with my husband, who has kept me going even in the darkest of times.

If you are in the midst of your twenties, or any part of your life, and the Friends theme song is your reality, embrace it. Friendship is the greatest form of love and greatest gift you can ever possess. Don’t let it go easily. Value it. Cherish it. Invest in it. All we can take with us is what is within us, and the love of friends penetrates deep into the inner core of our being. After all, “You think the dead we have loved ever truly leave us? You think that we don’t recall them more clearly than ever in times of great trouble? Your father is alive in you, Harry, and shows himself more plainly when you have need of him. How else could you produce that particular Patronus?… So you did see your father last night, Harry…. You found him inside yourself.” (Dumbledor, PoA, p. 427)

And when some of the Pharisees asked Yeshua, “When is the Kingdom of God coming”, he answered and he said to them, “The Kingdom of God does not come with what is observed.” “Neither do they say, ‘Behold, here it is!’ and ‘Behold, there it is!’, for behold, the Kingdom of God is within some of you.” ~ Luke 17:20-21 Aramaic Bible in Plain English

It is my understanding that when we choose to believe (to become friends of God through friendship with Christ), the Kingdom of God enters our hearts, binding all the hearts of those who choose to believe. I also think that the only reason more people don’t choose friendship with Christ is that they have a misunderstanding of him. He is not a rule mongular or purveour of archaic tradition or self-righteous. He stood for love, love of all even those who do evil. He stood for grace and mercy and forgiveness. He stood against the religious leaders of his time who put walls between imperfect people and God. Walls, or a veil to be more exact, that Jesus tore down. Jesus came to extend a hand of friendship from God to anyone who wants it. Anyone. So, if you think that is something you might want. Look into it. Learn about Christ and what he stood for, and decide if you’d like to be his friend, and thereby God’s friend. He’s the greatest friend anyone can ever have becasue he makes us better versions of ourselves and he connects us eternally to this vast collection of friends. He even puts his kingdom of friends in our hearts. It’s pretty awesome stuff, in my exeprience. And it’s all about love, which I am 100% for.

“This is my commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you.” “There is no greater love than this: that a person would lay down his life for the sake of his friends.” “You are my friends if you will do all that I command you.” ~ John 15:12-15 Aramaic Bible in Plain English

