Season one of Supergirl is still in full swing, and I have to say I’m loving it! My aunt thinks I’m crazy, but hey, she’s pretty wacky herself. Speaking of wacky, did you see Bizarro? Those eyes! Creeps-ville.

Soooo, usually my Supergirl posts are super long, but I’m trying to embrace brevity. We’ll see what happens. 😉

Spoiler alert!

Source
Source

In this episode, Max Lord has taken his corrupt God-complex to a whole new level. He’s kidnapped a comatose Jane Doe and turned her into a mirror image of Supergirl, looks, powers, and even feelings. Then he goes a step further and brainwashes her into thinking Supergirl is evil, and that evil people should be killed. But his plan backfires when Bizarro (named by Cat) faces off with Supergirl and witnesses Kara save lives…

Max: I ordered you to kill Supergirl.
Bizarro: You say Supergirl bad. But Supergirl help people. Supergirl not bad.
Max: I understand. You share her DNA. It’s natural that you should want to see the best in her. But who do you trust, Supergirl or me? Who do you love? Supergirl or me? Just remember, the world is a very complicated place, kiddo. Sometimes things that seem to be good, are really very, very bad.

Source
Source

As I was watching Max Lord use and corrupt this girl, these scenes got me to thinking about how careful we have to be to guard our mind. There are people out there who have an agenda, and they’ll use anyone they can to propel their agenda to the top. In our day and age we are bombarded by messages via TV, internet, ads, stories, etc. They all claim to have the answer. They all claim to be the right way. But they are opposed, so how do we know when we are being lied to and used versus when we are hearing truth?

The Bible speaks a lot about the importance of growing in discernment:

Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, for many false prophets have gone out into the world. ~ 1 John 4:1 ESV

And it is my prayer that your love may abound more and more, with knowledge and all discernment, so that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, ~ Philippians 1:9-10 ESV

But solid food is for the mature, for those who have their powers of discernment trained by constant practice to distinguish good from evil. ~ Hebrews 5:14 ESV

Discernment takes practice. It takes experience. It takes us sometimes believing the lie, but then realizing the lie we believed and learning how to recognize a falsehood in the future. The best way I’ve found to get through this process is to ask God for help and do my best to follow where I believe he’s leading me. “Let your conscience be your guide” stuff, only I try to invite God to intervene with my conscience because I’ve discovered that, “The trouble is, humans do have a knack of choosing precisely those things that are worst for them.” (Dumbledore, SS, p. 297)

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. ~ James 1:5 ESV

We must recognize this about ourselves—we don’t always choose right, even when we think we are right. And, when we discover we are wrong, there is one important thing we must do…

Source
Source

Even if we find out we are right, and we’re on the receiving end of an “I’m sorry” we should recognize that the person delivering the apology did something they thought at the moment was right and they’ve just discovered they believed a lie. They were used by the purveyor of the lie. But not anymore, because they know the truth. When this happens, the worst thing we can do is turn our backs on the other party. They are humbled and vulnerable and need support…

Source
Source
Source
Source
Source
Source
Source
Source

See, I can do brevity. 😉

*Transcript from: http://www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/

