Happy Throwback Thursday! Let’s jump into Friends season 6, episode 8:

Source
Source

[Scene: Central Perk, Monica and Chandler are on the couch. Ross walks in.]

Ross: Hey guys.

Chandler and Monica: Hey.

Ross: What’s up? (He smiles. His teeth are freakishly white.)

Chandler: You know…Oh My God.

Monica: What happened to your teeth.

Ross: I whitened them.

Chandler: (Sarcastically) Really.

Ross: Yeah. What do you think?

Monica: Well, I think I shouldn’t look directly at them.

Ross: Come on, seriously.

Monica: Ross they’re really, really, really white.

Chandler: Yeah, what was wrong with your old…human teeth.

Ross: Ahh, I-I did leave the gel on a little longer than it said to.

Monica: How much longer?

Ross: A-A day.

Monica: Ross you know that tonight is your date with Hillary?

Ross: I know. That’s why I did it. (With a big smile) Come on, are they really that bad?

Chandler: No, no no no. You’ll be fine. (turning to Monica) Hillary’s blind, right?

Monica: She will be after tonight.

Chandler: Yeah. (Rachel walks in.)

Ross: Oh, hey, hey Rach, do you notice anything..ahh…

Rachel: Yeah. Your teeth? Yes, I saw them from outside.

Ross is going on a date and decides he should whiten his teeth to impress Hilary. Only, his teeth are not just white, but freakishly white. To the point, they make him look worse than he did before. His solution…

Source
Source

[Scene: Ross’s Apartment, Ross and Monica are there.]

Monica: (Holding a shirt in front of Ross.) Okay, maybe this will make your teeth look less white. (Ross has a big smile.) Nope. Okay, colors that don’t work are blue, yellow, green, red, black, white, orange, and purple. Do you wanna try this highlighter again?

Ross: No, I think it poisoned me a little. (rubs his stomach) That date starts in like an hour. What am I gonna do?

Monica: Hey Ross, maybe if your skin was lighter. Your teeth wouldn’t look so bright.

Ross: Oh great. So all I need to do is get some new skin. Thank you.

Monica: I’m just saying, if we put just a little bit of makeup on you.

Ross: Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. We’re not 13 anymore.

Monica: Ross this is the only thing left that has a shot at working.

Ross: But, won’t she notice I have makeup on?

Monica: Please. Half the guys out there have makeup on.

Ross: What??

Monica: All right, half the people. I mean, just try it and see.

Ross: No. I am not putting on makeup. (Knock at the door. Phoebe enters.)

Phoebe: Hello. Oh good. Ross could you put up some of these flyers for me? (He smiles at her.) OH!! Demon!! Demon!!

[Transcript from: http://uncutfriendsepisodes.tripod.com/]

So, not only does he go on his date with super-white teeth, but also with foundation to make his skin look lighter. Where does the bad decision-making end?

BUT, if we’re being honest, how many times have I (and possibly you, but you’re probably smarter than me) done the same thing? Maybe we didn’t whiten our teeth (I tried that once, didn’t work and made my teeth super sensitive), but how about that sunless tanner that you think looks good but everyone else thinks makes you look orange? (Eek, guilty as charged.) Or painting your whole face before you leave the house because you feel too insecure to show people what you really look like? (Gah, guilty again.)

When will this obsession with our outside appearance stop? I have no idea. I’ve tried to do the absolutely-no-make-up-ever thing, but I fail miserably. Inevitably I give in to the pressure to look perfect at all times (not that I actually do but, hey, it’s the effort that counts). So I slather on the sunless tanner, which makes me orange, because I’m tired of the, “You’re so white,” comments. And I plaster on the make-up before ever taking a picture. It’s a vicious cycle and not a new one…

Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. ~ 1 Peter 3:3-4 NLT

Sometimes we (especial me) are so concerned with what people think of us on the outside, we spend our whole lives looking perfect rather than growing more and more perfect from the inside out.

Will I continue to slather on the tanner? Probably. Make-up? I have no immediate plans of quitting. But, I have learned that the first thing I have to make-up in the morning is my inside. I have to pour in what is good and honorable, then if I still need to I can fix up the outside.

Source
Source
