Friends, the One with the Apothecary Table, Season 6, Episode 11:

Issue #1: Janine, the girl Joey’s been trying to get to like him (who is also his roommate), finally goes out with him. They double-date with Joey’s besties, which makes Joey very, very, very happy until…

[Cut to Joey and Janine’s.]

Janine: How are we gonna get out of that one?

Joey: What?

Janine: I can’t handle two nights in a row with them.

Joey: What-what’s wrong with Monica and Chandler?

Janine: I don’t know, they’re just a little blah!

Joey: Blah?!

Janine: Well y’know, he’s blah, she’s just—she’s very loud for such a small person.

Joey: Uh, they’re like my best friends. Are you saying we can’t hang out with them? ‘Cause that would kinda be a problem.

Janine: No! Of course we can still hang out with them. Just y’know, not two nights in a row. Okay?

Joey: I guess.

Janine: Thank you. (They kiss.)

Joey: If you want, I’ll sell my friends and use the money to buy you presents.

Issue #2: Rachel and Pheebs are living together, and Rachel loves decorating their new place just like a catalog page from Pottery Barn, except that…

[Scene: Ross’s apartment, Rachel is entering as Ross comes out of the kitchen carrying popcorn.]

Rachel: Hey! We’re here!

Ross: Hey!

Rachel: (seeing his new table) Ohh! Oh my God!

Ross: You like it?

Rachel: Oh no!

Ross: It’s my new apothecary table!

Rachel: Ross! Phoebe’s gonna be here any second, she cannot see this!

Ross: Well why not?! She’ll-she’ll love it! It’s the real thing! I got it at Pottery Barn.

Rachel: I know you did! I bought the same one! And if she sees your table she’s gonna know that I lied to her. I told her ours was an original.

Ross: Why did you do that?

Rachel: Because she hates Pottery Barn.

Ross: She hates Pottery Barn?!!

Source
Source

Janine gets between Joey and his friends, and Rachel’s love of Pottery Barn threatens her friendship with Pheebs. Let’s see how the friends handle these tough situations…

Joey: Come on you guys, come on please-please just give her another chance, huh? She’ll come around I promise.

Monica: Of course we will, come on we gotta make dinner.

Chandler: Okay.

(They exit and close the door.)

Monica: (from the hallway) I do not like that woman!

Joey: (shouting) I can hear you!

Monica: I am loud!

At first, Joey tries to lie about Janine not attending a dinner the couples scheduled. But he’s an awful liar, so he caves and tells Chandler and Monica the truth. His friends decided to give Janine another chance even though they really don’t like her.

Phoebe: Oh my God. This is where you got all our stuff, Pottery Barn! Oh my God!

Rachel: Okay! Okay-okay look—no I did, I just wanted this stuff and I know how you feel about Pottery Barn. Just… Come on don’t be mad.

Phoebe: No-no-no, but I am mad! I am mad! Because this stuff is everything that is wrong with the world! And it’s all sitting up in my living room and all I can think about is how I don’t have that lamp!

Rachel: Well then honey, buy the lamp! Hey, we have that 60 bucks from Ross.

Phoebe: I can’t! I can’t! Unless… Well are you saying that-that you would move out if-if I didn’t buy that lamp?

Rachel: What?! No! I’m not gonna move out!

Phoebe: But are you saying that you would move out if I didn’t buy that lamp?

Rachel: (gets it) Oh. Yes! I would so move out!

Phoebe: Okay then I don’t have a choice! I have to buy that lamp!

Rachel: That’s right!

(They start to go inside.)

Phoebe: But at least the apothecary table is real.

Rach is caught when they stroll past a Pottery Barn window display that is a replica of their living room. Phoebe, one of the greatest friends ever, solves the issue by compromising. She admits she likes the Pottery Barn stuff and buys a lamp. Issue solved. Friendship saved. But Joey’s still dealing with Janine…

Joey: All right, uh, we’ve got a little bit of a problem here. These people are my friends; you can’t treat them that way.

Janine: They said stuff to me too, y’know!

Joey: I know! I know! And I’m going to talk to them about it. They mean so much to me. They… They’re like my family. If you guys are gonna be fighting all the time, I-I… I don’t think we can be together. It just, it just can’t work. It can’t. (Starts to break up) I’m very upset.

Joey ends up choosing his friends over the girl he was crazy about. Chandler and Monica tried to accommodate Janine and welcome her, but she refused to like them to the point she wanted Joey to move. He had a choice to make, and he made the choice of a genuine friend.

There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother. ~ Proverbs 18:24 NLT

If we want to have real friends, we have to be real friends. Real friends, like the Friends and the Golden Trio, stick closer than a brother.

Transcript from: http://uncutfriendsepisodes.tripod.com/season6/611uncut.htm

 

