James: Don’t you see this is exactly why Max Lord hates you?

Kara: So you think that Max Lord actually has a real reason to hate me?

James: No. I’m sorry, no. What I mean is, he’s terrified by you. Because of your ability to do exactly what you’re doing to him right now. I mean, you could go in there and swat him dead like a fly if you wanted to.

Kara: I would never do that!

James: I know that. But look, when you have more power than any human army on Earth, you have to be better than this. Kara, it’s never gonna come down to just a battle of strength, or smarts, or even wills with you. Ultimately, it’s going to be a battle of values. Yours values versus your enemy’s. And if you’re willing to abandon those values, what makes you better than Max Lord? I mean, is this the kind of hero that you want to be?

Kara: (CHUCKLES) I’m the kind of hero who believes in doing what needs to be done to keep the world safe.

James: Well, the Supergirl that I know believes in truth and justice. Kara, I don’t recognize you like this.(SCOFFS) That symbol on your chest, that means something to a lot of people. “Stronger together,” you said. But this is not strength.

Source
Source

As the title of episode 14 tells us, this Supergirl episode is all about truth and justice. The problem is that there are different views on both topics…

Kara: I suppose you hate my mother, too. Like all the other escapees.

Luzano: I did. At first. But over time, I understood. One tragedy cannot be undone by committing another. So, when I crashed on Earth, I sought only to lead a good life.

Source
Source

Draper: I’ve been watching you, Kara Zor-El. Your mother would be proud you’ve chosen to follow in her footsteps. Delivering punishment against those who sin.

Kara: I’m sorry that’s what you think I’ve been doing.

Luzano gets justice. Justice is not committing one tragedy to undo another. Justice is being true and kind and merciful. Draper’s murdering of the escaped prisoners is not justice, it is murder. He does not even listen to the reasons they were in prison, how they’ve conducted their lives since, or anything before executing them. Draper believes justice can only come in the form of the most extreme kind of punishment. In a way, he’s very much like Umbridge (insert shiver) and even Crouch.

“Thus says the Lord of hosts, Render true judgments, show kindness and mercy to one another, do not oppress the widow, the fatherless, the sojourner, or the poor, and let none of you devise evil against another in your heart.” ~ Zechariah 7:9-10 ESV

“You must not pass along false rumors. You must not cooperate with evil people by lying on the witness stand.

“You must not follow the crowd in doing wrong. When you are called to testify in a dispute, do not be swayed by the crowd to twist justice. And do not slant your testimony in favor of a person just because that person is poor.

“If you come upon your enemy’s ox or donkey that has strayed away, take it back to its owner. If you see that the donkey of someone who hates you has collapsed under its load, do not walk by. Instead, stop and help.

“In a lawsuit, you must not deny justice to the poor.

Be sure never to charge anyone falsely with evil. Never sentence an innocent or blameless person to death, for I never declare a guilty person to be innocent.Exodus 23:1-7 NLT

When Kara delivers the line, “I’m sorry that’s what you think I’ve been doing,” it made me think of Jesus. So many see Jesus as judgmental, merciless, and a server of guilt because that is how people who say they represent him treat others. But that is so not who Jesus is. If we want to know the true Jesus, the one who is all about love and mercy and grace and true justice, we have to read his story for ourselves. We have to start a relationship with Him, and see who he is. If we don’t do that, if we merely judge and execute him on the testimony and actions of others, are we really any better than Umbridge or Crouch or Draper?

 

Kara: Hey, I just wanna say thank you for pushing me to do the right thing.

James: No. It was a nudge. You knew what you had to do.

Kara: Well, you make me a better hero.

James: Well, you make me better, too.

Source
Source
Transcript from: http://www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/
