The girl beside the window looked up. She had straggly, waist-length, dirty-blond hair, very pale eyebrows, and protuberant eyes that gave her a permanently surprised look. Harry knew at once why Neville had chosen to pass this compartment by. The girl gave off an aura of distinct dottiness. Perhaps it was the fact that she had stuck her wand behind her left ear for safekeeping, or that she had chosen to wear a necklace of butterbeer caps, or that she was reading a magazine upside down. Her eyes ranged over Neville and came to a rest on Harry. She nodded. ~ Order of the Phoenix, pp. 184 – 185

Source
Source

Chapter 10 of Order of the Phoenix is appropriately titled, “Luna Lovegood,” as it is our very first encounter with this iconic character. As I was re-reading this chapter while riding in the car, I looked over at my husband and, with nostalgia in my eyes, announced that I’d just read Luna’s very first appearance in the Potter books.

He, not having read the story, quizzically asked which of the Potter books I was on. I told him Book 5, and his response was along the lines of, “Luna Lovegood doesn’t show up until book 5!?” (He did watch the movies.)

What a character to create that, though she takes up less than half the story, she remains a fan favorite. And Rowling really had to think about Luna to not only write her into the story but to continue planning her story to the point she knows who Luna marries and her children’s’ names—and that Newt Scamander is her husband’s ancestor.

But, wait, this is a blog about finding faith in fandoms. What does Rowling’s master crafting have to do with the Bible? So much! One of the descriptions of Christ is as “Author,” he is also referred to as the “Word.”

In the beginning the Word already existed.
    The Word was with God,
    and the Word was God.
He existed in the beginning with God.
God created everything through him,
    and nothing was created except through him.
The Word gave life to everything that was created,
    and his life brought light to everyone.
The light shines in the darkness,
    and the darkness can never extinguish it. ~ John 1:1-5 NLT

Rowling’s very act of creating Luna is a reflection of God’s creating each of us, detail by detail…

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.

You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.

You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. ~ Psalm 139:13-16 NLT

Lesson to be learned: We are all uniquely and wonderfully made—even the most strange of us. And that means we should each value ourselves and all others, even our enemies because we’ve all be specially crafted and designed by the creator of all things.

Don’t judge, show love. And look out for Nargles! 😉

Source
Source
