Last week, I wrote THIS post predicting what Falling would be all about—since we had to spend a week without the hit show. I’m surprised I actually got a few things right. Here they are (Spoiler Alert):

  1. Kryptonite is used to bring the bad girl out of Supergril, only it’s red instead of black.
  2. This is, in a way, a redemption story which mirrors part of the Christian-everyman journey.
  3. The theme of the light and dark within us and our chooses is highly apparent and referenced at the end.
  4. Though indirect, we do get another Harry Potter reference when Cat Grant says, “I admire loyalty, integrity, and employees that I can trust.” Can you say Hufflepuff House? Okay, this is reaching but that was the first thing that popped into my mind when she delivered this line.

Let’s talk about the Christian-everyman redemption part of the story. At the beginning of the episode, Cat says this about Supergirl:

“But the most remarkable thing about Supergirl is that she is the kindest person I have ever known.”

No more than one commercial break after that comment, Supergirl gets too close to Red Kryptonite (made by Max Lord) and ends up throwing Cat off the Catco building.

Source
Source

Cat: Citizens of National City, this is Cat Grant, live from Catco Plaza. As you all know, I have been Supergirl’s most outspoken champion. So, you can imagine how difficult it is for me to tell you that I and Catco can no longer stand behind Supergirl. I made you trust her. I gave you my word that she was safe, a friend. I was wrong. Supergirl has changed. She is unstable and extremely dangerous. She threw me off of a building last night and threatened my life, and who knows what else she is capable of? It’s not easy being let down by our idols. Having someone who embodies our heroic ideals helps us believe that we can be heroes, too. Sometimes heroes fall. So, please, for your own safety, stay away from Supergirl.

Okay, that’s enough. Turn it off. Play it on a loop. Everyone needs to know.

The Red Kryptonite brings to the forefront every bad thought Supergirl has ever had. When all that is revealed, suddenly people realize she is not quite as kind as they thought. And now Kara and Supergirl have to deal with the consequences.

Kara: I love this city. (EXHALING) The lights. All the windows. I love that behind every window there’s a story. Someone’s eating take-out with their boyfriend. Someone’s playing board games with their kids. (EXHALING) To me, every person in the city is a light. And every time I’ve helped one of them a little bit of their light has become a part of me. I’ve never been happier than when I’ve been Supergirl. I know what happened wasn’t exactly my fault, my my brain was altered. But it brought something inside of me out. That was mean and horrible – What I did to you, Ms.
Grant.

Cat: Oh, please. I’ve base jumped Mount Kilimanjaro. Do you really think you scared me? Well, okay, yes, you did scare me.

Kara: I know I scared the whole city. And now I’m so afraid that I’m never gonna win them back.

Cat: Well (SIGHING) If you came here for me to tell you that everything is going to be okay, I can’t do that. It’s not that easy.

Kara: (SIGHING) I know.

Cat: Now, I said that it’s not going to be easy. But I didn’t say it would be impossible. Personally, I don’t believe in failure. Not if you get back up and face the music. It takes time. But if anybody can win this city back, it’s you.

Kara: Can I just sit here for a little while? Of course.

The beginning of every Christian journey starts with admitting there is dark stuff within us that needs to be worked out, and feeling remorse for it. Then it is accepting God’s offer of forgiveness through Christ, and a turn toward choosing to live our life like and for Christ (the light God sent into the world to make a way for us).

Like Cat tells Supergirl, that change is not easy, but it is possible. Because all things are possible when we lean on Christ and allow him to be our strength and our guide.

We all struggle with darkness, what matters is what we choose to do with it. Lay it at the feet of the cross and take up the charge to live for the light. Or embrace the dark and let it take us and many others down with us.

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” ~ John 8:12 ESV

Source
Source
GIFs are all from: http://cbssupergirlgifs.tumblr.com/tagged/falling
Transcript from: http://www.springfieldspringfield.co.uk/view_episode_scripts.php?tv-show=supergirl-2015&episode=s01e16

 

