According to Madam Pomfrey, thoughts could leave deeper scarring than almost anything else, though since she had started applying copious amounts of Dr. Ubbly’s Oblivious Unction, there seemed to be some improvement. ~ p. 847, Order of the Phoenix 

Ron had been attacked in the Brain Room at the Department of Ministries when he joined Harry in his mission to save Sirius. Now back at the castle, he’s undergoing treatment for scarring due to thoughts physically attacking him. But even in a world where brains don’t attack people like crazed jellyfish, Madam Pomfrey’s words prove true.

What we think about shapes our life. I think about stories a lot, so storytelling and analysis shape how I act and think and my interests. When I worry about things, I make decisions based on worried thoughts rather than relaxed and confident thoughts. I think that is why the Bible tells and shows us over and over that we are to keep our minds focused on God above and not as much on everything going on around us.

For example: The car breaks down. I can fret and worry and cry. Or I can take a deep breath, say a prayer, and then step into handling the situation with an attitude of “It will be all right because I am not alone in this, I have God.” The physical situation doesn’t change, but my perspective does, which completely alters my reality.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
    do not depend on your own understanding.
Seek his will in all you do,
    and he will show you which path to take. ~ Proverbs 3:5-6 NLT

But Madam Pomfrey, I think, is also referring to bad memories. Times we were mistreated or abused or neglected or bullied or something. Those thoughts have a way of staying with us if we don’t act quickly to set them aside. But the only way to get rid of the scarring is by renewing our minds, by learning through lots of practice to set those things aside and re-focus on God. And each time the harmful thought comes up, telling them to take a hike and finding a way to get our mind thinking about things from above.

Here are some Bible verses on the matter:

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind…. ~ Romans 12:2 NIV

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. ~ Philippians 4:8 ESV

Happy Potter Tuesday!

Source
Source
