Happy Twilight Tuesday! Yes, I know, usually, Tuesday is for Potter, but right now I’m re-reading the Twilight series and highlighting (on my Kindle) all the awesome biblical parallels I’m re-finding. (I’ve done this before. It’s a sickness. That’s why this blog exists, lol.)

As I was re-reading the first book of the series (I’m currently 30%-ish into New Moon), I was struck more so than any of my previous readings by how much Edward is a literary Christ figure and Christian Everyman. Here are a few of my notes.

Source
Source

1. When we look at Bella (also a Christ Figure) as the Christian-Everyman figure, we see how her bond with Edward is a mirroring of the Christian’s bond with Christ. But first, let’s start with Bella beginning the story as the Sinner Seeker,

Sometimes I wondered if I was seeing the same things through my eyes that the rest of the world was seeing through theirs. Maybe there was a glitch in my brain. ~ Page 11

Bella realizes there is something different about her. She sees and thinks differently than others. She’s not better than them, actually, she thinks she’s lower than them (humility as an essential ingredient before conversion), and her eyes are wide open. Which is what lets her really see the Cullens in a way no one else does.

2. Bella comes to the conclusion, after being around Edward for a bit that,

Then again, I was starting to believe nothing was impossible for him. ~ Page 249

The moment I read this, I thought of Jesus’s words, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But with God everything is possible.” (Matthew 19:26 NLT.) And Paul’s words, “For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:13 NLT.)

The interesting thing is, after Bella’s conversion in Book 4, she does gain that post-Pentecost belief that now, with Edward’s venom that changed her into a strong Vamp, she can do all things. Not because she was powerful before Edward, but because of what her relationship with Him has made her.

3. Back to Book 1, Bella notices that,

No one could be still like Edward. ~ Page 277

This reminded me of, “Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” (Psalm 46:10 ESV.) Jesus used to go and be alone with God a lot. I like to picture Him during these times in a very still and peaceful manner. I know not all of Christ’s prayers were peaceful (Garden of Gethsemane), but I think most of them would be. Jesus, from what I’ve read, seemed like a very calm guy. No one could be still like Him because no one knew God quite as well as he did. 

4. Edward is also a Christian-Everyman figure, not being perfect and struggling with sins himself. He even refers to himself as a prodigal son (page 343) because he left Carlisle and turned his back on his father’s ways to pursue his own course. When that didn’t pan out for him, he returned and was met not with judgment but with open arms.

So, in a way, Edward is also a Christian-Everyman in the way he passes on the knowledge to the Seeker (Bella), “Baptizes” her into her new life, and serves as her guide as she grows strong in this life.

5. When Bella wants to be converted right away, Edward holds her back. He says she hasn’t thought through what she will be letting go to embrace his brand of life. Christ issues the same warning that before someone commits to becoming his disciple (student), they should count the cost of that choice because it means giving up their old life and embracing a new way of living. A way that means living for Him rather than for self.

Source
Source

Those are five to start with. One bonus point I’ve discovered in my re-reading of New Moon is that Bella’s hallucinations of Edward’s voice in a way symbolize how the Holy Spirit works. Christ left at Pentecost, but he didn’t leave us alone. He sent his Spirit to everyone who believes as a guide and teacher for us.

Stay tuned, hopefully, for more from the Twilight saga!

