Happy Friday with Friends! This morning I rewatched “The One in Massapequa.” In this episode, Phoebe gets that really annoying, overly-positive boyfriend played by Alec Baldwin. And, with him in tow, the friends head to Massapequa for Monica & Ross’s parents’ anniversary party.

Source
Source

Rachel: This is such a great party! 35 years. Very impressive, do you guys have any pearls of wisdom?

Mrs. Geller: Jack?

Mr. Geller: Why would you serve food on such a sharp stick? (Looking a toothpick)

Ross: That’s a good question, dad. That’s a good question…

Rachel: Hmmm….

Rachel asks this question at the beginning of the episode, and she does get an answer, but it is from the Geller children…

Monica: Okay it’s time for the toast! Umm now-now, I know that Ross usually gives the toast, but this year I’m going to do it.

(Everyone sighs)

Monica: No, no it’s going to be great. Really! Mom, Dad, when I got married, one of the things that made me sure I could do it was the amazing example the two of you set for me. For that and so many other things I want to say thank you. I know I probably don’t say it enough, but I love you. (Pretends to cry hoping her parents will join her.) When I look around this room, I’m-I’m saddened by the thought of those who could not be here with us. Nana, my beloved grandmother who would so want to be here, but she can’t because she’s dead....

Monica’s speech goes downhill from this point on, but Ross catches something important in her words.

[Scene: Central Perk, Ross and Monica are there.]

Monica: Okay that’s it. I give up. At mom and dad’s 40th anniversary, you’re the one giving the speech.

Ross: Y’know I don’t understand why they didn’t cry. It was a beautiful speech.

Monica: Oh, come on.

Ross: Hey! All that stuff you said about true love, you were right, I mean, we did learn a lot from Mom and Dad! And that picture of Chi-Chi with her mischievous grin. And what you said about Nana. Ohh, yeah she really would’ve wanted to be there. And you know what? I think she was.

Monica: (starts to cry) Oh good God, Ross! How the hell do you do it?

When Ross delivered this line, I thought about Proverbs 13:22 (NLT), “Good people leave an inheritance to their grandchildren, but the sinner’s wealth passes to the godly.” Often I’ve heard preachers teach how this verse doesn’t only mean wealth or possessions, it also means wisdom. The Gellers passed the wisdom of how to have a loving, 35-year marriage on to their children. Monica seemed to learn from them, and hopefully, Ross will catch on soon. 😉

Source

Happy Friday!

Transcript from: http://uncutfriendsepisodes.tripod.com/season8/818uncut.htm

 

