Welcome to Twilight Tuesday! Today we are going to look at something Bella says to Jacob when she first confronts him about being a werewolf. She’s figured out his secret. And she believes part of that secret is that he’s responsible for the wolf attacks on hikers.

“Well, I’m sorry that I can’t be the right kind of monster for you, Bella. I guess I’m just not as great as a bloodsucker, am I?”

I jumped to my feet and glared back. “No, you’re not!” I shouted. “It’s not what you are, stupid, it’s what you do!” ~ New Moon, p. 306

Bella echoes a truth spoken in Harry Potter, “It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.” ~ Goblet of Fire. Goblin, giant, pure-blood, Muggle, vampire, werewolf, mudblood, none of that matters. What matters is what who we choose to be on the inside. Our choices. Our character. That’s who we truly are.

I doesn’t matter that Edward is a vampire, because it’s what he does with who he is that matters. Just like it doesn’t matter that Jacob can become a wolf, it matters what he does with that gift.

This rule doesn’t just apply to the supernatural. It applies to you and me as well. It doesn’t matter what we were born, what gifts or abilities or weaknesses we have. It is what we choose to do with them that matters. That makes us who we are.

Yes, just as you can identify a tree by its fruit, so you can identify people by their actions. ~ Matthew 7:20 NLT

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” ~ DumbledoreChamber of Secrets

Source
Source
