As I was re-watching Star Wars: The Force Awakens on DVD, I had quite a few realizations I hope to discuss over the coming weeks. One of them being Finn’s Jedi status.

Finn was taken at birth to be raised a Storm Trooper. His mind was conditioned to unquestioningly obey. But in his very first battle, when a fellow Trooper fell smearing blood across FN-2187’s helmet, Finn awoke.

Source
Source

Side note: Finn’s awakening by blood seems symbolic to me of a believers awakening through the blood of Christ.

My theory: I think Kylo Ren sensed the Force in Finn from their first encounter. I think that is why, when Finn didn’t shoot at the citizens, Ren just walked away. Though Ren has chosen the Dark Side (or he seems to have chosen the Dark Side), like Vader he protects those who have the Force in them to a certain degree. Which is why I think he went easy and took an interest in Rey as well.

I think that the reason Finn could resist the mind control was because he has the Force in him. That in the Force there is a very strong pull to the light—one Kylo admits to struggling against. The Force works very much like the Spirit, once it is in us, it pulls us toward the Light. The more we follow, the stronger that Light becomes in us. The more we pull away and break the way of the Light, the stronger the Dark becomes in us.

Source
Source

Snoke: There’s been an awakening, have you felt it?

Kylo: Yes

Verse: “…I am sending you to the Gentiles to open their eyes, so they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God. Then they will receive forgiveness for their sins and be given a place among God’s people, who are set apart by faith in me.’” ~ Acts 26:17 – 18 NLT

 

