We’re at the point in New Moon where Edward is back with Bella but she’s still very weary, despite all his assurances, that he’s not going to up and leave her. It’s at this moment that she has an epiphany:

What if you sincerely believed something was true, but you were dead wrong? What if you were so stubbornly sure that you were right, that you wouldn’t even consider the truth? Would the truth be silenced, or would it try to break through?

Option three: Edward loved me… ~ New Moon, p. 526

As I was re-reading this scene, I thought of the following verse:

“Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends. ~ Revelation 3:20 NLT

Like Edward with Bella, Jesus paints a picture here of God pursuing us. And pursuing us. And pursuing us, just waiting for us to drop our stubborn guard and believe that he loves us. It’s a pretty cool image, especially when one of my favorite stories brings it to the forefront of my mind.

The truth we stubbornly refuse to believe: God loves us. And he wants a forever, unending relationship with each one of us. We just have to believe him and engage in that relationship. It’s as simple and profound and Bella believing in Edward’s love and choosing to open he heart up to him again.

