As I was reading the Volume 11 of The Walking Dead yesterday, I stumbled upon this scene and actually read the answer to Eugene’s question in the Bible the day before.

In Paul’s speech to the Athenian philosophers who asked him to explain his teachings on the Good News to them, he first of all points to one of the gods they worship — the unknown God. So, my point A to Eugene’s question is that we do in some sense or another know or sense God. Paul explains this more eloquently than I can paraphrase (see Acts of the Apostles 17).

My part B to Eugene’s query is summed up by Paul in verse 30 of Acts 17, “God overlooked people’s ignorance about these things [he’s referring to their worship of false gods and idols] in earlier times, but now he commands everyone everywhere to repent of their sins and turn to him.”

I can’t speak for God, but I do know he is just and fair and the Bible says that it is his desire that everyone should be saved. I don’t think God is seeking to keep anyone out of heaven, rather I believe, in his grace and mercy, he’s doing everything he can to ensure we spend eternity with him. If not, why die for us on a cross? Why go through the pain and effort.

You will also notice that most of Paul’s fights are fought against the religious people doing everything in their power to exclude others from heaven. Kind of ironic. And those types of people still exist today. They take God’s word and perpetuate a message of hate, when God is a message of love.

Side note: To Eugene’s first question, it’s faith that saves us not works. We do good works because we are saved not to be saved. We are saved by grace through faith. It is a gift from God to save us when we choose to believe in his Son, Christ. And then, because we’ve been so loved by him, we in turn love him and love others. I hope that makes sense. If not, shoot me a question and I’ll do my best to answer or point you in the direction of an answer.

