This is what the Others have done to us. You can’t band together to fight without trust. And without trust, there was no hope. ~ The 5th Wave, Cassie

These are Cassie’s thoughts as she’s faced with the soldier in the store. She doesn’t want to shoot him, but she’s scared he’ll shoot her. She doens’t know if he’s human or Other, because Other’s look human. So the moment he moves his hand to show her he’s not armed, the light catches something metal, and she shoots him.

The Others don’t need to kill the humans. They’ve destroyed trust, which has divided humanity rather than united it. Humans are no longer a threat to anyone but each other, which makes them weapons.

You can’t band together to fight without trust. And without trust, there is no hope. Sounds like,”

“Every kingdom divided against itself is laid waste, and a divided household falls….” ~ Jesus, Luke 11:17 ESV

Unity would make mankind a threat to the Others. Rather they divided them from within, turning them against each other so they are no more than cockroaches (Cassie’s analogy). However, if and when they band together, they are going to be a threat (and I can’t wait to read about that!). This is also why Jesus said,

“I am praying not only for these disciples but also for all who will ever believe in me through their message. I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you. And may they be in us so that the world will believe you sent me.

“I have given them the glory you gave me, so they may be one as we are one. I am in them and you are in me. May they experience such perfect unity that the world will know that you sent me and that you love them as much as you love me. ~ Jesus, John 12:20-23 NLT

There is power in unity, for in unity there is trust and in trust there is hope!

