I’m with Lori on this one. The Walking Dead fans know that living each day like it’s your last is not living at all. That’s why they keep seeking out locations to “make a life.” I find it really hard to believe anyone lives life to their fullest if they think “today could be the end.”

Rather, what I believe, is that it’s much better to live every day like it’s your first. Think about a young child. Most wake up bright and early because they can’t wait to start the day. Putting them down to a nap is like issuing a death sentence — they fight off the sleep because they just want to be awake to experience more life. Peek-a-boo amuses them for hours. That’s how I want to live my life. Soaking it all up as if today’s the first day in eternity.

And I think there is some biblical basis to back up my belief.

New Life

Paul explains in his letter to the Roman believers, “For we died and were buried with Christ by baptism. And just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious power of the Father, now we also may live new lives.” (Romans 6:4 NLT)

Childlikeness

When Jesus saw what was happening, he was angry with his disciples. He said to them, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children. I tell you the truth, anyone who doesn’t receive the Kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.” Then he took the children in his arms and placed his hands on their heads and blessed them. (Mark 10:14-16 NLT)

Why They Both Matter

When we first choose to believe, our old pre-faith life is gone and we step into a new life. One that does not end in death but continues on for eternity. So, to me, it makes much more sense for me to live every day as my first because in my new life there is no end. I can stop and marvel at the blueness of the sky, take a moment to smile at the chirping of the bird outside my window, and get completely lost in a game of peek-a-boo because I know time is on my side.

With time on my side, I can finally live my life to it’s fullest.

