“I don’t want to leave here,” he confesses. “For a lot of reasons that seemed very good until I found you.” He claps his hands together softly in frustration; it isn’t coming out right. “I know you didn’t ask to be my reason for going on with…with everything. But from the moment I found you…” He turns and grabs my hands in his, and suddenly I’m a little scared. His grip is hard, his eyes swim with tears. It’s like I’m holding him back from tumbling over the edge of a cliff.

“I had it all wrong,” he says. “Before I found you, I thought the only way to hold on was to find something to live for. It isn’t. To hold on, you have to find something you’re willing to die for.” ~ Evan, The 5th Wave

Evan the Christ-figure

Reading this scene I can’t help but think of the relationship between Christ and believers. Evan representing the Christ-figure and Cassie the believers. Christ taught and modeled the greatest form of love, to lay down your life for your friends.

This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. ~ Jesus, John 15:12-13 NLT

Living for What You’d Die For

The greatest form of living, Christ taught, is loving. And the greatest form of loving is not when we find someone or something to love, but when we find someone we love enough to die for. Sometimes that means in the literal act, like a soldier taking a bullet for his brother in arms. But most of the time that means living in such a way as to serve those we love.

Christ also taught and modeled the servant life. He came into this world with a big purpose and mission. He is the Son of God. His life could have been all about being served but, instead, he often sacrificed his wants and needs to serve others.

Evan is very wise to say, “To hold on, you have to find something you’re willing to die for.”

Life is worth living because of the people we love enough to give our life for. #NeverStopLoving

