DRACO: Sorry about your floor, Minerva.

PROFESSOR McGONAGALL: I dare say it’s my fault for owning a chimney.

I LOVED this line from McGonagall in Cursed Child. Draco arrives at her office by Floo Powder, getting soot all over her floor. Granted, I can hear McGonagall’s elegantly delivered sarcasm as I read the line, but she makes a point. In the Wizarding World, you can choose to hook your fireplace up to the Floo Network, thereby allowing others to travel to it. What comes with chimney travel? Soot.

The Point

In a day and age where it seems like most of us play the blame game for just about everything, it’s refreshing to see a character take the blame. Two character’s, actually. Draco apologizes for that which is not really his fault, and McGonagall accepts the blame for that which is.

 

Source
Source

Biblically

He [God] said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten of the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?” The man said, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” ~ Genesis 3:11-13 ESV

God confronts Adam, the one he put in charge, about doing what God told him not to do — not to eat the fruit of the tree in the midst of the garden. Adam immediately blames Eve, and Eve blames the serpent. But the thing is that they chose to listen to the serpent rather than God.

Thus, they both suffer the consequences as does the serpent. Although, God doesn’t angrily punish Adam and Eve. He makes them clothes, and he even visits them. I like to think God gave them the skills necessary to know how to feed and shelter themselves. And, if you read Genesis, the Lord seems to continue a relationship with them throughout their lives. Were they guilty? Yes. But God didn’t cut them off from him forever.

All this to say. Don’t play the blame game because it never works. God sees what we do. At least if we tell the truth, we maintain our integrity. And if we recognize when we are wrong and turn to him, he will help us face whatever the consequences of our actions may be.

Don’t play the blame game because it never works.

